Hawkshead Riesling and Pinot Noir Releases

Hawkshead is the Gibbston Valley single estate of Denis Marshall and Ulrike Kurenbach who specialise in Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris. They have 3 ha of Pinot Noir, in 6 clones, planted in 2001 and 2002, with 5, 115 and Abel as the base of the wine produced. 2 ha of Pinot Gris were planted in 2006. In addition to their own fruit, grapes are sourced from other areas to supplement the range of wines made. Dean Shaw of the Central Otago Wine Co. is the contracted winemaker taking over from Chris Keys with the 2012 wines. Here, I review the new release 2013 Riesling, 2012 Pinot Noir and 2011 ‘First Vines’ Pinot Noir. www.hawksheadwine.com


  • Hawkshead Central Otago Riesling 2013
  • Hawkshead Central Otago Pinot Noir 2012
  • Hawkshead ‘First Vines – Gibbston Single Estate Vineyard’ Central Otago Pinot Noir 2011

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.