Hawkshead – New Releases from Gibbston

This boutique, quality Central Otago producer is based in the Gibbston Valley between Queenstown and Cromwell. Hawkshead is owned by former M.P. for Rangitikei. Denis Marshall, and his partner Ulrike Kurenbach, who planted 3 ha of Pinot Noir in 2001 and 2002. The clones used are 5, 6, 114, 115, 667 and Abel. In 2006, a further 2 ha of Pinot Gris were planted, bearing in 2009. This fruit is supplemented by grapes from Bendigo and Bannockburn. Sue McKean of Tiki Estate is Denis' daughter, and Pinot Noir fruit is supplied for the Tiki label, and there has been reciprocation with Marlborough fruit in the past. Winemaking is entrusted to Christopher Keys, and the Bannockburn Pinot Noir here is made by Steve Davies. www.hawksheadwine.com


  • Hawkshead Central Otago Riesling 2011
  • Hawkshead Gibbston Valley Central Otago Pinot Gris 2011
  • Hawkshead Central Otago Pinot Noir 2009
  • Hawkshead Bannockburn Central Otago Pinot Noir 2010

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.