Hawkshead 2017 Pinot Gris. 2015 Riesling and Bannockburn Pinot Noir, and 2014 ‘First Vines’ Pinot Noir


Denis Marshall and Ulrike Kurenbach operate the ‘Hawkshead Vineyard’, established in the Gibbston Valley by planting 3 ha of 6 different clones of Pinot Noir in 2001 and 2002. They extended their plantings with Pinot Gris planted in 2006. From these vines, they make their wines, supplementing their own fruit with contracted grapes to make a portfolio which has Riesling, Pinot Gris, a rosé and Pinot Noirs from Bannockburn and their oldest Gibbston vines, the wine called ‘First Vines’, this being their flagship. The wines are primarily made by Dean Shaw of the Central Otago Wine Co. Here, I review the new release 2017 Pinot Gris, 2015 Riesling, 2015 Bannockburn Pinot Noir and the 2014 ‘First Vines’ Pinot Noir. www.hawksheadwine.com


  • Hawkshead Central Otago Pinot Gris 2017
  • Hawkshead Central Otago Riesling 2015
  • Hawkshead Bannockburn Central Otago Pinot Noir 2015
  • Hawkshead ‘First Vines’ Gibbston Central Otago Pinot Noir 2014

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.