Hawkshead 2013 Central Otago and 2012 ‘First Vines’ Pinot Noir

Denis Marshall and Ulrike Kurenbach are specialist Pinot Noir producers based in the Gibbston Valley district of Central Otago. Their Hawkshead vineyard, with 3 ha of Pinot Noir over 6 different clones was planted in 2001 and 2002. Hawkshead have extended their portfolio by purchasing fruit from outside Gibbston to make additional Pinot Noir offerings, and introducing white wines, from Pinot Gris from their own site, planted in 2006, and a Riesling from contracted fruit. Marshall and Kurenbach’s wines are made by the very experienced Dean Shaw at the Central Otago Wine Co. in Cromwell. Here I review the new release 2013 Central Otago Pinot Noir and the 2012 ‘First Vines’ Pinot Noir from the oldest Gibbston vines. www.hawksheadwine.com


  • Hawkshead Central Otago Pinot Noir 2013
  • Hawkshead ‘First Vines – Gibbston Single Estate Vineyard’ Central Otago Pinot Noir 2012

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.