Hawkshead 2012 White & 2010 Pinot Noir


Hawkshead is the winegrowing passion of former Rangitikei M.P. Denis Marshall and his partner Ulricke Kurenbach who planted 3 ha of Pinot Noir in 2001 and 2 ha of Pinot Gris in 2006 in their site in the Gibbston Valley. ‘Hawkshead' was the first home in New Zealand of Denis' ancestor William Swainson, naturalist and Fellow of the Royal Society, whose pioneering spirit they emulate. Denis and Ulricke supplement their own fruit with grapes from Bendigo and Bannockburn. Christopher Keyes of Gibbston Valley Wines was winemaker up to 2011, with the highly experienced veteran Dean Shaw of the Central Otago Wine Co. taking over from 2012. Here are my reviews of the new release 2012 whites and 2010 Pinot Noir. www.hawksheadwine.com


  • Hawkshead Central Otago Riesling 2012
  • Hawkshead Gibbston Central Otago Pinot Gris 2012
  • Hawkshead Central Otago Pinot Noir 2010

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.