General Blog

Spiegelau International Wine Competition Gold Medal Winners

By June 30, 2011No Comments

The results of the inaugural Spiegelau International Wine Competition 2011, judged last week, were announced today. Of around 1,100 wines entered for judging, 68 were awarded gold, 206 awarded silver and 429 bronze, making 64% of the wines entered winning an award.

The competition took over from the now-defunct Liquorland International Wine competition, and was judged in Blenheim, with highly experienced Australian judge Mike de Garis in the Chairman’s role, and Belinda Jackson as the Competition Director. The show took the innovative step of using style-specific Spiegelau glassware in the judging, and it is believed this is the first time for a competition.

The trophy winners will be announced at the awards dinner on Friday 8 July at The Langham, Auckland. For all the medal winners or more information, go to www.thespiegelauiwc.co.nz

Here are the gold medal winning wines:
Bottle Fermented
Daniel Le Brun NV
Morton Estate ‘Blanc de Blanc’ Methode 2000
Charles Wiffen Gewurztraminer 2009
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 12 – Lone Gum’ Gewurztraminer 2009
Pinot Gris
Red Tussock Pinot Gris 2009
Coopers Creek Marlborough Riesling 2010
Stoneleigh Marlborough Riesling 2010
Forrest ‘The Doctors’ Riesling 2010
Georges Road ‘Block Three’ Riesling 2010
Glasnevin Classic Riesling 2008
Wither Hills ‘Kerseley’ Riesling 2009
Sauvignon Blanc
Durvillea Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Auntsfield Estate Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Brightwater Vineyards Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Wither Hills ‘Rarangi’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 18 – Snap Block’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 2 – Swamp Block’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 3 – 43 Degrees’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Lil Rippa Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Vidal ‘Reserve Series’ Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Wairau River ‘Reserve’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Clearview Estate ‘Reserve’ Chardonnay 2009
Two Tracks Marlborough Chardonnay 2009
Wild Rock ‘Pania’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2009
Penfolds ‘Thomas Hyland’ Chardonnay 2010
Wolf Blass ‘Gold Label’ Chardonnay 2010
Villa Maria ‘Reserve Barrique Fermented’ Chardonnay 2010
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2010
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Ihumatao’ Chardonnay 2010
CJ Pask ‘Gimblett Road’ Viognier 2010
Yalumba Eden Valley Viognier 2009
Other Whites
Bimbadgen ‘Signature’ Semillon 2007
Sweet Wine
Charles Wiffen Late Harvest Riesling 2009
Forrest Botrytised Riesling 2009
Riverby Estate Noble Riesling 2009
Pinot Noir
Davishon Pinot Noir 2010
Brackens Order Pinot Noir 2009
Auntsfield Estate Pinot Noir 2009
Goldfields Pinot Noir 2009
Hawkshead Bannockburn Pinot Noir 2009
Kahurangi ‘Heaphy Series’ Nelson Pinot Noir 2010
Triplebank Awatere Pinot Noir 2010
Resurgence Pinot Noir 2010
Van Asch Pinot Noir 2008
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Pinot Noir 2009
Waipara Hills ‘Equinox’ Waipara Pinot Noir 2009
Whitehaven Marlborough Pinot Noir 2010
Brancott Estate ‘Reserve’ Merlot 2009
Church Road ‘Cuve’ Merlot 2009
Church Road ‘Reserve’ Merlot/Cabernet 2008
Wild Rock ‘Gravel Pit Red’ Hawke’s Bay Merlot/Malbec 2009
Trinity Hill Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2010
Cabernet Sauvignon
Clearview Estate ‘Old Olive Block’ 2009
Shingleback McLaren Vale Cabernet Sauvignon 2007
Thorn-Clarke ‘Sandpiper’ Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
Wynns Coonawarra ‘Black Label’ Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
Kahurangi Estate Syrah 2010
Weeping Sands Waiheke Island Syrah 2010
Mojo Shiraz 2010
Shingleback ‘D Block Reserve’ McLaren Vale Shiraz 2006
Thorn-Clarke ‘Shotfire’ Shiraz 2009
Ingoldby Shiraz 2009
Wolf Blass ‘Gold Label’ Shiraz 2009
Other Reds
Coopers Creek ‘Limited Release’ Gisborne Malbec 2010
Farnese Montepulciano d’Abruzzo DOC 2009
Telmo Rodriguez ‘Dehesa Gago’ Toro 2008
Williams and Humbert ‘Aged 12 Years’ Pedro Ximinez
Sandeman Late Bottled Vintage Port 2009

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.