General Blog

Spiegelau International Wine Competition 2013 Gold Medal Winners

By June 26, 2013No Comments

The medal results of the 2013 Spiegelau International Wine Competition were released today. Of 1,075 wines judged, there were 69 gold medals (6.42%), 160 silver (14.88%) and 431 bronze (40.09%) medals awarded, making a total of 660 medals in total (61.4%). This is consistent with the proportions generally awarded in other competitions in New Zealand, reflecting the same standard of judging.

Although an international show in that entries are accepted from all wine growing countries, New Zealand wines made up the majority by far, with Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc alone winning 100 medals, 13 of which were gold and 11 of the New Zealand gold haul going to Pinot Noir. These two varieties are, of course, the most numerous to the judged. New Zealand wines also dominated the aromatic whites, Chardonnay and sweet wine classes in the gold medals.

Competition director Belinda Jackson noted that medals were awarded to wines from Australia, France, Portugal, Spain, U.S.A. and Chile, recognising the success of international entries. It is no surprise that Australia showed well in their “heartland varieties” of Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvignon in particular. Chief judge Mike de Garis said “It’s great to see distributors entering a range of their imported wines. It means wine lovers get a more complete guide to wines available in New Zealand.”

Following are the gold medal winners:

Piper Heidsieck Champagne ‘Cuvee Brut’
Roederer Estate Anderson Valley Brut
Lindauer ‘Special Reserve’ Brut Cuvee
Nautilus ‘Cuvee Marlborough’ Brut

Johanneshof Marlborough 2012
Saint Clair ‘Godfrey’s Creek Reserve’ 2009
Schist Hills ‘Old Vineyard’ 2011

Pinot Gris
Catalina Sounds Marlborough 2012
Johanneshof Marlborough 2012
Aronui ‘Single Vineyard’ 2012
Saint Clair ‘Godfrey’s Creek Reserve 2012
Starborough ‘Family Estate’ 2012

Brightwater Vineyards Nelson 2012
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 9 Big John’ 2012
Woollaston 2012

Sauvignon Blanc
Ara ‘Pathway’ 2012
Auntsfield ‘Single Vineyard’ 2012
Eradus Awatere Valley 2012
Fairhall Downs ‘Hugo’ Barrel Fermented 2009
The Fuder ‘Single Vineyard Selection – Dillons Point’ 2012
Harvest Estate Marlborough 2012
Lawson’s Dry Hills 2012
Gunn Estate ‘Reserve’ 2012
Saint Clair ‘Wairau Reserve’ 2012
Stanrock 2012
Villa Maria ‘Reserve Wairau Valley’ 2012
Waimea Estate 2012
Yealands ‘Single Block S1’ 2012

Clearview ‘Reserve’ 2012
The Fuder ‘Single Vineyard Selection’ 2011
Matua ‘Single Vineyard’ Marlborough 2012
Matua ‘Single Vineyard’ Marlborough 2011
Nautilus 2012
Villa Maria ‘SV Keltern’ 2012

Villa Maria ‘SV Omahu Gravels’ 2010

Other Whites
Duca do Castelmonte ‘Diantha’ 2012
Bimbadgen ‘Signature’ Semillon 2009
Brown Brothers Moscato 2012
Tyrrell’s ‘Winemakers Selection’ Hunter Valley ‘Vat 1’ Semillon 2006

Sweet Wines
Forrest Botrytised Riesling 2012
Jackson Estate Botrytis Riesling 2011
The Kings ‘A Sticky End’ Noble Sauvignon 2011
Osawa Late Harvest Gewurztraminer 2011
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Marlborough Noble Semillon ‘Botrytis Selection’ 2011

Pinot Noir
Alex 2012
Ara ‘Select Block K54’ 2012
Bannock Brae ‘Barrel Selection’ 2009
Brennan 2010
Giesen ‘The Brothers’ Marlborough 2011
Shingle Peak ‘Reserve’ 2012
Saint Clair ‘Premium’ Marlborough 2012
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 12 Lone Gum’ 2011
SOHO ‘Havana’ 2012
Villa Maria ‘Cellar Selection’ Marlborough 2011
Woollaston 2011

Thornbury Hawke’s Bay 2012
Crossroads ‘Milestone Series’ 2012

Cabernet Sauvignon and Blends
Brown Brothers ‘Patricia’ Cabernet Sauvignon 2005
Yalumba ‘The Cigar’ Cabernet Sauvignon 2010
VNO Cabernet/Merlot 2011
Shot in the Dark Cabernet/Shiraz 2012
Te Awa Hawke’s Bay Cabernet/Merlot 2010

Shiraz/Syrah and Blends
Coopers Creek Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2012
Serafina ‘Sharktooth’ Shiraz 2009
Pepperjack BV Shiraz 2011
Rosemount ‘Diamond’ Shiraz 2012

Other Red Wines
Buller ‘Beverford’ Durif 2010

Fortified Wines
Krohn ‘Quinta do Retiro Novo’ 2009
Buller Fine Old Muscat

A full list of the medal winners including golds, silvers and bronzes can be seen at www.wineshow.co.nz  The trophy winning wines will be announced at the awards dinner being held in Auckland on 9 August. For more information about the competition, go to www.thespiegelauiwc.co.nz

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.