General Blog

Spiegelau International Wine Competition 2011 – Trophy Winners

By July 9, 2011No Comments

The trophy winners from the inaugural Spiegelau International Wine Competition were announced at the awards dinner held at The Langham in Auckland last night. Spiegelau took over the sponsorship for the now defunct Liquorland International Wine Competition, and instituted the use of specialised glassware for the judging. Belinda Jackson continued her role as Competition Director, as did Mike de Garis as Chair of Judges.

The trophies awarded were:
Champion Sparkling Wine – Daniel Le Brun Methode Traditionnelle Brut NV
Champion Gewurztraminer – Charles Wiffen Gewurztraminer 2009
Champion Pinot Gris – Red Tussock Marlborough Pinot Gris 2009
Champion Riesling – Glasnevin Classic Riesling 2008
Champion Sauvignon Blanc – Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 3 – 43 Degrees’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Champion Chardonnay – Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Ihumatao’ Chardonnay 2010
Champion Viognier –CJ Pask ‘Gimblett Road’ Viognier 2010
Champion Other White Variety – Bimbadgen ‘Signature’ Semillon 2007
Champion Sweet Wine – Forrest Botrytised Riesling 2009
Champion Pinot Noir – Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Marlborough Pinot Noir 2009
Champion Merlot – Church Road ‘Cuve’ Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2009
Champion Cabernet Sauvignon – Clearview ‘Old Olive Block’ 2009
Champion Syrah – Weeping Sands Waiheke Island Syrah 2010
Champion Other Red Variety – Telmo Rodriguez ‘Dehesa Gago’ Toro 2009
Champion Fortified Wine – Williams & Humbert Pedro Ximinex 12 y.o. Sherry
Champion Wine of the Show – Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Ihumatao’ Chardonnay 2010
Champion Winery of the Show – Shared jointly by Charles Wiffen, Saint Clair and Church Road

Congratulations to all the winners!

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.