General Blog

Royal Easter Show Wine Awards 2012 – Trophy Winners

By March 18, 2012No Comments

The trophy winners for the 2012 Royal Easter Show Wine Awards were announced last night at the awards dinner in Auckland. The trophy for Champion Wine of the Show was awarded to Brightwater Vineyards ‘Lord Rutherford’ Barrique Chardonnay 2009. This wine also took the trophy for Champion Chardonnay and Brightwater Vineyards winemaker Tony Southgate was awarded ‘Winemaker of the Year’.

Regular trophy collector Villa Maria took the Sauvignon Blanc, Merlot awards for those varieties, as well as the Heritage Rose Bowl for the ‘Reserve’ Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot blend based on the 2009, 2005 and 2001 vintages. Sir George Fistonich, proprietor of Villa Maria was awarded the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee medal. Pernod-Ricard took three trophies and Coopers Creek two.

For my analysis of the gold medal results from this year’s competition, click here. For more information and a complete list of medal winners, go to www.wineshow.co.nz

Here are the trophy winners:
Champion Wine of the Show
Brightwater Vineyards ‘Lord Rutherford’ Barrique Chardonnay 2009
Champion Chardonnay
Brightwater Vineyards ‘Lord Rutherford’ Barrique Chardonnay 2009
Champion Gewurztraminer
Distant Land Gewurztraminer 2011
Champion Sauvignon Blanc
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard Southern Clays’ Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Champion Riesling
Clark Estate ‘Single Vineyard’ Riesling 2011
Champion Pinot Gris
Sileni ‘Estate Selection The Priestess’ Hawke’s Bay Pinot Gris 2010
Champion Viognier
Coopers Creek Gisborne Viognier
Champion Wine of Other Varieties
Coopers Creek ‘SV – St John’ Hawke’s Bay Malbec 2010
Champion Sweet Wine
Brancott Estate ‘Brancott B’ Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Champion Cabernet Sauvignon & Merlot
Church Road ‘Reserve’ Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2009
Champion Merlot
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2010
Champion Syrah
Matua Valley ‘Reserve’ Syrah 2010
Champion Pinot Noir
Two Degrees Pinot Noir 2009
Champion Rosé
Stoneleigh Pinot Noir Rosé 2011
Champion Sparkling
Lindauer ‘Classic’ Brut NV
Champion Export Wine
Waimea Gewurztraminer 2011
Winemaker of the Year
Tony Southgate, Brightwater Vineyards, Nelson

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.