General Blog

Royal Easter Show Wine Awards 2012 – Gold Medal Winners

By February 21, 2012No Comments

The 2012 Royal Easter Show Wine Awards gold medal winners have been announced. This is the 59th time the wine judging competition has been run, and is the oldest and longest running wine show in New Zealand. 1,261 wines were judged Friday 17 to Sun 19 February, with Kate Radburnd and Mike de Garis as Chair and Deputy Chair of judges.

111 gold (8.8%), 198 silver (15.7%) and 497 bronze (39.4%) medals were awarded. As expected Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Noir garnered the most with 20 and 19 golds respectively, these two varieties making the largest proportion of entries, reflecting the country’s plantings. 16 gold medals were awarded to Chardonnay showing the return to favour in growing and making wine from this grape. The emerging Syrah variety captured 13 golds, and Pinot Gris took 10. Riesling followed with 9 gold medals. Also notable was the sparkling class with 6 golds. 

All but two of the 20 Sauvignon Blanc golds were from the 2011 vintage, which while not as well rated as the previous year, still produced attractive, archetype wines in Marlborough. 2010 vintage wines dominated the Pinot Noir winners, with 15 of the 19 golds. Central Otago and Marlborough had the lion’s share of the Pinot Noir golds with 9 and 8 respectively. 9 of the 16 Chardonnay golds came from the 2010 vintage which is regarded as superior to 2009, especially in Hawke’s Bay where 7 of the 16 golds came from. Hawke’s Bay also dominated the Syrah results with 10 of the 13 golds originating from there. 2 came from Waiheke Island and one from Nelson. And 2011 seems to have been very satisfactory as a vintage for the aromatic varieties, with 15 of the 24 golds awarded to wines from that vintage across Pinot Gris, Riesling and Gewurztraminer.

The most successful region was Marlborough where nearly half of the gold medal winners had fruit from that region. Hawke’s Bay figured with just over one-quarter of the gold medal count and was the second most successful region. Otago had 10 gold medal winning wines and interestingly the Wairarapa and Martinborough region did not figure in the gold medal count.

Yet again, the Villa Maria Estates group was the most successful at the show, winning 17 golds, 11 for Villa Maria, 4 for Vidal and 1 each for Esk Valley and Thornbury. It is good to see the larger companies making a good showing with 10 golds for Pernod-Ricard wines and for Treasury Wine Estates featuring 5 Matua Valley/Shingle Peak wines among their tally. Saint Clair and Coopers Creek took 5 and 4 golds respectively.

Here are the gold medal winners:
Black Barn Hawke’s Bay 2010
Brightwater ‘Lord Rutherford’ Barrique 2009
Gem 2007
Giesen ‘The Brothers’ Marlborough 2010
Lawson’s Dry Hills 2008
Mission ‘Jewelstone’ 2009
Moana Park ‘Reserve’ 2009
Nautilus Marlborough 2010
Osawa ‘Prestige Collection’ 2010
Stoneleigh ‘Lattitude’ 2011
Vidal ‘Legacy Series’ Hawke’s Bay 2010
Villa Maria ‘Reserve Barrique’ Gisborne 2010
Villa Maria ‘Reserve Hawke’s Bay’ 2010
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard Ihumatao’ 2010
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard Keltern’ 2008
West Brook ‘Ivicevich’ Waimauku 2007
Distant Land 2011
Ngatarawa ‘Stables’ 2011
Te Mania Nelson 2011
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard Ihumatao’ 2010
Waimea 2011
Sauvignon Blanc
Camshorn 2010
Farmers Market Marlborough 2011
Yealands ‘Full Circle’ 2011
Glazebrook New Zealand 2010
Lake Chalice ‘Raptor’ Marlborough 2011
Matua Valley ‘Reserve’ 2011
Mount Riley ‘Limited Release’ 2011
Mt Olympus ‘Echo’ 2011
Sacred Hill Marlborough 2011
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 1 Foundation Block’ 2011
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 11 Cell Block’ 2011
Shingle Peak ‘Reserve’ 2011
Squealing Pig Marlborough 2011
Stoneburn Marlborough 2011
The Ned 2011
The Sounds ‘Single Vineyard’ Marlborough 2011
Ti Point Marlborough 2011
Triplebank Awatere 2011
Vidal ‘Reserve Series’ Marlborough 2011
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard Southern Clays’ 2011
Boreham Wood ‘Single Vineyard’ Classic 2011
Clark Estate ‘Single Vineyard’ 2011
Coopers Creek Marlborough 2010
Crosse Vineyard Marlborough 2011
Glasnevin ‘Limited Release’ Classic 2008
Ostler ‘Lakeside’ 2011
Villa Maria ‘Cellar Selection’ Marlborough Dry 2011
Waimea Classic 2009
West Brook Marlborough 2010
Pinot Gris
Couper’s Shed 2010
Moncellier Marlborough 2011
Sacred Hill Marlborough 2011
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 5 Bull Block’ 2011
Sea Level ‘Home Block’ 2011
Sileni ‘Estate Selection The Priestess’ Hawke’s Bay 2010
Spy Valley 2011
Sugar Loaf 2010
Tatty Bogler 2010
Thornbury Waipara 2011
Coopers Creek Gisborne 2010
Other Specified White Varieties
Boundary Vineyards Saivignon Blanc/Pinot Gris 2011
Saint Clair ‘premium’ Marlborough Gruner Veltliner 2011
Sweet White
Brancott Estate ‘Brancott B’ Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc 2011
Tohu ‘Raiha Reserve’ Riesling 2011
Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot Predominant Blends
Church Road ‘Reserve’ Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2009
Vidal ‘Legacy Series’ Gimblett Gravels Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2009
Kim Crawford ‘Regional Reserve’ 2010
Matua Valley ‘Single Vineyard’ Hawke’s Bay 2009
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay 2010
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay 2009
Ash Ridge 2010
Cable Bay Vineyards Waiheke Island 2010
Coopers Creek ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay 2010
Crossroads ‘Vineyard Selection’ 2009
Cypress ‘Terraces’ 2009
Elephant Hill Hawke’s Bay 2010
Esk Valley ‘Winemakers Reserve’ Gimblett Gravels 2010
Matua Valley ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay 2010
Milcrest Estate 2010
Mudbrick ‘Shepherds Point Vineyard’ 2010
Ngatarawa ‘Stables Reserve’ 2011
Vidal ‘Legacy Series’ Gimblett Gravels 2009
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay 2010
Pinot Noir
Bel Echo 2010
Boundary Vineyards ‘Kings Road’ 2010
Brennan 2009
Crossroads 2010
Hawkdun Rise 2009
Jules Taylor Marlborough 2010
Junction ‘Body and Soul’ 2010
Mission ‘Reserve’ 2011
Mt Maude 2010
Mt Olympus ‘Whalebone Bay’ 2010
Nautilus Marlborough 2010
Peter Yealands 2010
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 15 Strip Block’ 2010
Two Degrees 2009
Two Degrees 2010
Villa Maria ‘Cellar Selection’ Marlborough 2010
Whitehaven Marlborough 2010
Wooing Tree ‘Beetle Juice’ 2010
Wooing Tree 2010
Other Red Varietals
Coopers Creek ‘SV Saint John’ Hawke’s Bay Malbec 2010
Stoneleigh Pinot Noir Rosé 2011
Daniel Le Brun Vintage 2001
Deutz Marlborough Cuvee Blanc de Blancs 2008
Hunters ‘Miru Miru’ Marlborough 2008
Lindauer ‘Classic’ Brut NV
Lindauer ‘Special Reserve’ Blanc de Blanc NV
No.1 Family Estate ‘Cuvee No.8′ nv

Full lists of gold, silver and bronze medal winners from the 2012 Royal Easter Show Wine Awards can be seen at the Wineshow website by clicking here. The trophy winners will be announced at the awards dinner on Saturday 17 March.

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.