General Blog

Royal Easter Show Wine Awards 2011 – Trophy Winners

By March 20, 2011No Comments

The trophy winners of the 2011 Royal Easter Show Wine Awards were announced at the awards dinner last night. The trophy results were a confirmation of the dominance of the Villa Maria group in wine judging competitions in this country. The result was no surprise considering the gold medal results announced immediately after the judging conducted at the end of February, where 25 of the 119 golds went to Villa Maria, Vidal, Esk Valley and Thornbury wines, all under the umbrella of the Villa Maria group, owned by Sir George Fistonich. It is notable that the 17 Villa Maria labelled gold medals ranged from the widely available ‘Private Bin’ wines to the limited production ‘Reserve’ and ‘Single Vineyard’ releases.

The Champion Wine of the Show was the Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay 2009. Villa Maria also took the Champion Viognier, Champion Cabernet Sauvignon& Merlot, and Champion Syrah awards. The Vidal ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2009 took the Champion Chardonnay Trophy adding to the result. Villa Maria was also announced ‘Winemaker of the Year’, the award given jointly to Alastair Maling MW, the Group Winemaker and Nick Picone, Senior Auckland Winemaker. And possibly as much a highlight as the trophy awards, Sir George Fistonich was inducted to the New Zealand Wine Hall of Fame for services to the wine industry.

Following are the trophy winners:

Champion Wine of the Show – O-I New Zealand Trophy
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2009
Champion Chardonnay – New World Trophy
Vidal ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2009
Champion Gewurztraminer – The Village Press Trophy
Johanneshof Marlborough Gewurztraminer 2010
Champion Sauvignon Blanc – Guala Closures Trophy
Whitehaven Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Champion Riesling – Auckland A.P. & I. Shows Board Trophy
Lawson’s Dry Hills Marlborough Riesling 2008
Champion Pinot Gris – Datacom Trophy
Roaring Meg Central Otago Pinot Gris 2010
Champion Viognier – DrinksBiz Trophy
Villa Maria ‘Cellar Selection’ Hawke’s Bay Viognier 2010
Champion Wine of Other Varieties – Auckland A & P Association Trophy
Matua Vallry ‘Single Vineyard – Matheson’ Hawke’s Bay Malbec 2009
Champion Sweet Wine – Riedel Trophy
Riverby Estate Marlborough Noble Riesling 2009
Champion Cabernet Sauvignon & Merlot – Red Badge Security Trophy
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2008
Champion Merlot – Show Light & Power Ltd Trophy
Church Road ‘Cuve’ Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2008
Champion Syrah – Sky City Trophy
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2009
Champion Pinot Noir – New Zealand WineGrower Magazine Trophy
Akarua Central Otago Pinot Noir 2009
Champion Rosé – Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Trophy
Elephant Hill Central Otago Rosé 2010
Champion Sparkling – Rapid Labels Trophy
Nautilus ‘Cuvee Marlborough’ Methode Traditionnelle Brut NV
Champion Export Wine – J F Hillebrand New Zealand Trophy
Lawson’s Dry Hills Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Winemakers of the Year – Royal Agricultural Society Gold Medal
Alastair Maling MW – Villa Maria Group, Nick Picone – Villa Maria Estate
Heritage Shield
Hunters Marlborough Riesling 2010, 2007, 2004
Click here to view all of the 2011 Royal Easter Show Wine Awards results

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.