General Blog

Royal Easter Show Wine Awards 2011 – Gold Medal Winners

By February 22, 2011No Comments

The medal winners of the 58th Royal Easter Show Wine Awards have been released. From 1542 wines entered for judging, 119 gold medals were awarded. This high proportion of gold medals reflects the increasing general quality of wines across the board in this country and the favourable 2010 and 2009 vintages for white wines and red wines respectively.

22 golds were awarded to Sauvignon Blanc, all from the 2010 harvest, in Marlborough, confirming the reports of the exceptional vintage the region experienced. Pinot Noir was also very successful, with 21 wines awarded gold. All of these bar three were from the 2009 vintage. The 2009 vintage was also very favourable for wines made from the Bordeaux varietals, and of the 16 wines of this style, 15 were from 2009. The Chardonnay variety took 14 golds, 12 from the 2009 vintage, with around half of the Chardonnays from Marlborough. The aromatic whites of Pinot Gris, Riesling and Gewurztraminer were awarded 14, 10 and 6 golds respectively. Judges commented that Pinot Gris seemed very attractive as a category. There were 6 Syrah and 5 Sparkling golds.

Marlborough was the most successful region, taking around half of the golds, followed by Hawke’s Bay with approx. 25%, and then Central Otago with less than 10% of the gold medal awards. The Villa Maria group was the most successful entrant, taking 25 golds, 17 of which went to Villa Maria labelled wines. The Villa Maria wines ranged from the affordable ‘Private Bin’ to the flagship ‘Reserve’ and ‘Single Vineyard’ expressions. Saint Clair enjoyed a successful showing with 7 golds, as did Matua Valley with 5 golds.

An innovation for the Royal Easter Show Wine Awards was the introduction of a ‘Heritage’ category where multiple vintages of a label could be entered to show a track record of quality. Of the 26 sets of wines entered, the following were selected:

Hunters Riesling
Stoneleigh Riesling
Johanneshof Gewurztraminer
Esk Valley Reserve Chardonnay
Akarua Pinot Noir
Villa Maria Reserve Cabernet/Merlot

Following are the gold medal winning wines:

Charles Wiffen Marlborough Chardonnay 2009
Clearview Estate Reserve Chardonnay 2009
Coopers Creek ‘SV – The Limeworks’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2009
Corbans ‘Cottage Block’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2009
Forrest Chardonnay 2008
Lake Chalice ‘Raptor’ Marlborough Chardonnay 2009
Matariki Chardonnay 2007
Matua ‘Ararimu’ Chardonnay 2009
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 10 – Twin Hills’ Chardonnay 2009
Vidal Reserve Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2009
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Taylors Pass’ Chardonnay 2009
Wairau River Reserve Chardonnay 2009
West Brook Barrique Fermented Chardonnay 2009
Wild Rock ‘Pania’ Chardonnay 2009
Bladen Marlborough Gewurztraminer 2010
Johanneshof Marlborough Gewurztraminer 2010
Lawson’s Dry Hills Gewurztraminer 2009
Seifried Nelson Gewurztraminer 2010
Te Whare Ra Gewurztraminer 2009
Villa Maria Private Bin East Coast Gewurztraminer 2010
Auntsfield Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Dusky Sounds Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Hay Maker Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Invivo Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Junction Free Run Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Kim Crawford ‘SP – Spitfire’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Lawson’s Dry Hills Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Matua Valley Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Nautilus Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Rochfort Rees Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Sacred Hill ‘Halo’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Saint Clair Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 2 – Swamp Block’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 3 – 43 Degrees’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 21 – Bell Block’ Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Stanley Estates Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Thornbury Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Tiki Estate Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Villa Maria Reserve Clifford Bay Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Villa Maria Reserve Wairau Valley Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Whitehaven Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Yealands Estate Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Drylands Marlborough Dry Riesling 2007
Kaimaira Estate ‘ITI Selection’ Riesling 2010
Lawson’s Dry Hills Riesling 2008
Martinborough Vineyard Riesling 2010
Martinborough Vineyard ‘Manu’ Riesling 2010
Stoneleigh Riesling 2010
Vidal Marlborough Riesling 2010
Villa Maria ‘Cellar Selection’ Riesling 2010
Waimea Classic Riesling 2009
Zephyr Riesling 2009
Babich Marlborough Pinot Gris 2010
Dashwood Marlborough Pinot Gris 2009
Esk Valley Hawke’s Bay Pinot Gris 2010
Farmers Market Marlborough Pinot Gris 2009
Lake Chalice Eyrie Vineyard Marlborough Pinot Gris 2010
Marlborough Vineyards Marlborough Pinot Gris 2010
Matua Valley Gisborne Pinot Gris 2010
Mud House South Island Pinot Gris 2010
Omaka Springs Marlborough Pinot Gris 2010
Red Tussock Pinot Gris 2009
Roaring Meg Pinot Gris 2009
Triplebank Awatere Valley Pinot Gris 2010
Two Tracks Marlborough Pinot Gris 2010
Waimea Pinot Gris 2009
Villa Maria ‘Cellar Selection’ Viognier 2010
Forrest Botrytised Riesling 2009
Riverby Estate Noble Riesling 2009
Mission Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
Church Road ‘Cuve’ Merlot 2008
Glazebrook New Zealand Merlot 2009
Matua Valley ‘SV’ Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2009
Thornbury Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2009
Villa Maria Reserve Merlot 2009
Clearview ‘Cape Kidnappers’ Cabernet/Merlot 2009
Couper’s Shed Merlot/Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
Mission Reserve Cabernet/Merlot 2009
Trinity Hill Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay ‘The Gimblett’ 2008
Tuki Vineyard Merlot/Malbec/Cabernet Franc 2009
Villa Maria ‘Cellar Selection’ Merlot/Cabernet Sauvignon 2009
Villa Maria Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2009
Villa Maria Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2008
Church Road Reserve Syrah 2008
Mudbrick ‘Shepherd’s Point Vineyard’ Syrah 2009
Vidal Reserve Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2007
Villa Maria ‘Cellar Selection’ Syrah 2009
Villa Maria Reserve Syrah 2009
Villa Maria Reserve Syrah 2007
12,000 Miles Pinot Noir 2009
Akarua Pinot Noir 2009
Aurum ‘Mathilde Reserve’ Pinot Noir 2009
Bird ‘Old Schoolhouse Vineyard’ Pinot Noir 2009
Burnt Spur Pinot Noir 2009
Esk Valley Marlborough Pinot Noir 2009
Gibbston Valley Central Otago Pinot Noir 2009
Giesen ‘The Brothers’ Pinot Noir 2009
Mud House Central Otago Pinot Noir 2009
Rockburn Pinot Noir 2009
Saint Clair Marlborough Pinot Noir 2010
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 15 – Strip Block’ Pinot Noir 2009
Tarras Vineyards ‘The Canyon’ Pinot Noir 2009
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Seddon’ Pinot Noir 2009
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Southern Clays’ Pinot Noir 2009
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Southern Clays’ Pinot Noir 2008
Waipara Hills Central Otago Pinot Noir 2009
West Brook Marlborough Pinot Noir 2009
Whitehaven ‘Greg’ Marlborough Pinot Noir 2009
Whitehaven Marlborough Pinot Noir 2009
Wither Hills ‘Benmorven’ Pinot Noir 2007
Matua Valley ‘SV’ Hawke’s Bay Malbec 2009
Villa Maria Reserve Malbec 2009
Elephant Hill Central Otago Pinot Rose 2010
Soho Waiheke Rose 2010
Brancott Estate Reserve Brut Cuvee
Hunter’s ‘Miru Miru Reserve’ Marlborough 2007
Lindauer Brut
Lindauer Rose
Nautilus ‘Cuvee Marlborough’ Brut
The trophies will be announced at the awards dinner on 19 March

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.