General Blog

New Zealand International Wine Show 2014 – Trophy Winners

By September 28, 2014No Comments

The trophy winning wines of the 2014 New Zealand International Wine Show were announced at an awards dinner in Auckland last night. The Champion Wine of the Show was awarded to Marsden ‘Black Rocks’ Chardonnay 2013 from Kerikeri in the Bay of Islands, Northland. The wine is no stranger to success, with a number of vintages made over the years winning top awards. This is a credit to the consistent quality achieved by Rod MacIvor.

The N.Z. International Wine Show competition is a happy hunting ground for Chardonnay wines, this year 27 wines winning gold medals. The Marsden ‘Black Rock’ Chardonnay 2013 the seventh to take the Champion Wine award since the competition’s inception in 2005. In 2013 last year, the Nautilus 2012 took the top spot, and in 2011 it was Villa Maria ‘Keltern’ 2010. The Church Road ‘Reserve’ 2008 was the champion in 2010, West Brook Barrique Fermented 2007 in 2009, Church Road ‘Reserve 2006 in 2008 and the Black Barn Barrel Fermented 2004 were the other top wines at the N.Z. International Wine Show.

Another noteworthy result is that of the Matua ‘Single Vineyard’ ‘Matheson’ Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2013 taking the Shiraz/Syrah Trophy in a field of 40 gold medal contenders which was dominated by Australian wines. There were 9 New Zealand golds in this class. Matua’s winemaker Nikolai St George was the Champion Winemaker of the Year, his wines winning 3 trophies, 5 gold, 5 silver and 10 bronze medals at the show. And the Pinot Noir trophy result is a further endorsement for Matt Connell of Akarua of Central Otago, his 2013 taking that prize.

As is usual in trophy results, there is an interesting mix of well-known wines and those that are not. This always generates a degree of controversy over the trophy judging process where subjectivity and personal preferences of the judges come more into play. Winning a trophy usually results in commercial benefits for the brand, and this is an excellent result for a new winery or producer.

The New Zealand International Wine Show also recognises a person who has made a significant contribution to New Zealand wine. The Sir George Fistonich Medal, awarded to a ‘New Zealand Legend of Wine’ went to Steve Smith MW. He joins the following recipients:

2013 – Peter and Joe Babich
2012 – Vic Williams
2011 – Alan Brady
2010 – Kate Radburnd
2009 – Michael Cooper ONZM
2008 – Larry McKenna
2007 – Terry Dunleavy MBE, FWINZ
2006 – Kevin Judd
2005 – Bob Campbell MW

Below is a list of the trophy winning wines. For a list of the gold medal winners and my analysis, click here. To see complete list of all the medal winners, go to the competition website www.nziws.co.nz

Nissan NZ Champion Wine of the Show
Marsden ‘Black Rocks’ Chardonnay 2013

Nissan NZ Champion Winemaker of the Year
Nikolai St George – Matua

FIRST GLASS Wine Company of the Year

Steve Smith MW

Treasury Wine Estates Champion Chardonnay
Marsden ‘Black Rocks’ Chardonnay 2013

EuroVintage Champion Sauvignon Blanc
Cable Station Road Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2014

Constellation Brands Champion Pinot Gris
Dashwood Marlborough Pinot Gris 2014

Negociants New Zealand Champion Viognier
Falconhead Hawke’s Bay Viognier 2013

Kahurangi Estate Champion Riesling
Waimea ‘Classic’ Nelson Riesling 2013

Rapid Labels Champion Gewurztraminer
Cicada Marlborough Gewurztraminer 2013

Southern Wind Champion Other White Varieties
Matua Valley ‘Single Vineyard’ Hawke’s Bay Albarino 2014

Federal Merchants Champion Sweet Wine
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Marlborough Noble Riesling Botrytis Selection 2012

Federal Merchants Champion NZ Sparkling
Te Hana Sparkling Rosé Cuvée NV

Kahurangi Estate Champion Methode Traditionelle and Sparkling
Champagne Laurent Perrier Brut NV

First Glass Champion Rosé
Gibbston Valley Central Otago Rosé 2014

EuroVintage Champion Cabernet Sauvignon
Treasures Coonawarra Cabernet Sauvignon 2012

Federal Merchants Champion Merlot
Squawking Magpie ‘The Nest’ Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2013

Phase3 Creative Strategic Champion NZ Bordeaux Red Wine
Church Road ‘McDonald Series’ Hawke’s Bay Cabernet Sauvignon 2013

Federal Merchants Champion NZ Syrah
Matua ‘Single Vineyard’ ‘Matheson’ Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2013

San Pellegrino Champion Shiraz/Syrah
Matua ‘Single Vineyard’ ‘Matheson’ Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2013

Negociants New Zealand Champion Pinot Noir
Akarua Central Otago Bannockburn Pinot Noir 2013

Riedel Champion International Wine
Obsidian Waiheke Island Montepulciano 2013

Wine Orbit Champion Fortified Wine
Valdespino Pedro Ximenez ‘El Candado’ Sherry

First Glass Champion Commercial White Wine
Charles Wiffen Marlborough Chardonnay 2013

Constellation Brands Champion Commercial Red Wine
Johnny Q Shiraz 2012


Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.