General Blog

New Zealand International Wine Show 2013 – Trophy Winners

By September 30, 2013No Comments
The trophy winning wines for the 2013 N.Z. International Wine Show were announced at the Awards Dinner held on 28 September in Auckland. The Champion Wine of the Show was the Nautilus Marlborough Chardonnay 2012. This is the sixth time a Chardonnay has taken the title in the nine years since the competition began in 2005.

Villa Maria once again dominated the trophy results winning 5 of the trophies in addition to the 21 gold medals, 29 silvers and 92 bronzes, and was thus awarded Wine Company of the Year. Villa Maria’s winemaker Nick Picone was named Champion Winemaker of the Year, the wines he made taking 3 trophies and 10 of the gold medals.

Nissan NZ Champion Wine of the Show
Nautilus Estate Marlborough Chardonnay 2012

Nissan NZ Champion Winemaker of the Year
Nick Picone – Villa Maria

FIRST GLASS Wine Company of the Year
Villa Maria

Treasury Wine Estates Champion Chardonnay
Nautilus Estate Marlborough Chardonnay 2012

EuroVintage Champion Sauvignon Blanc
Triplebank Awatere Valley Sauvignon Blanc 2013

Constellation Brands Champion Pinot Gris

Freeland Central Otago Pinot Gris 2013

Negociants New Zealand Champion Viognier
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Omahu Gravels’ Viognier 2010

Southern Wind Champion Riesling
Riverby Estate ‘Eliza’ Marlborough Riesling 2012

Rapid Labels Champion Gewurztraminer
Johanneshof Marlborough Gewurztraminer

WineoftheWeek.com Champion Other White Varieties
Tyrrell’s ‘Vat 1’ Hunter Semillon 2006

Federal Merchants Champion Sweet Wine
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Marlborough Noble Riesling Botrytis Selection 2012

VINO FINO Champion Methode Traditionelle and Sparkling

Champagne Bollinger ‘Special Cuvee’ NV

First Glass Champion Rosé
Sileni ‘Cellar Selection’ Cabernet Franc Rosé 2013

EuroVintage Champion Cabernet Sauvignon
Villa Maria Reserve Gimblett Gravels Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2010

Federal Merchants Champion Merlot

Church Road ‘McDonald Series’ Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2011

VINO FINO Champion Shiraz/Syrah
Johnny Q Shiraz Viognier 2010

Negociants New Zealand Champion Pinot Noir
Terrace Edge Waipara Valley Pinot Noir 2012

Riedel Champion International Wine

Farnese ‘Oversettanta’ Primitivo Di Manduria 2010

Wine Orbit Champion Fortified Wine

Krohn ‘Quinta Do Retiro Novo’ Vintage 2009

Federal Merchants Champion NZ Sparkling
No. 1 Family Estate ‘Cuvee Adele’ Methode Traditionelle 2009

bizambrands Champion NZ Bordeaux Red Wine

Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Gimblett Gravels Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2010

Federal Merchants Champion NZ Syrah
Villa Maria Cellar Selection Gimblett Gravels Syrah 2010

First Glass Champion Commercial White Wine
Yealands Estate ‘Land Made Series’ Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2013

Constellation Brands Champion Commercial Red Wine

Mud House Central Otago Pinot Noir 2012

The Sir George Fistonich Medal, awarded to a ‘New Zealand Legend of Wine’ went to Peter and Joe Babich. They join the following recipients:
  • 2012 – Vic Williams
  • 2011 – Alan Brady
  • 2010 – Kate Radburnd
  • 2009 – Michael Cooper ONZM
  • 2008 – Larry McKenna
  • 2007 – Terry Dunleavy MBE, FWINZ
  • 2006 – Kevin Judd
  • 2005 – Bob Campbell MW
To see my analysis of the gold medal winners from this year’s show, click here. For the full results, go to www.nziws.co.nz

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.