General Blog

New Zealand Aromatic Wine Competition 2016 Results

By October 21, 2016No Comments

The results of the 2016 New Zealand Aromatic Wine Competition were released yesterday. The Supreme Champion Wine in Show Trophy went to the Hunters Gewurztraminer 2016. From over 316 entries there were 27 (8.54%) gold medals awarded, 73 (23.1%) silver and 123 (38.9%) bronzes, making a total of 223 (70.57%) wines awarded a medal.

The competition is conducted as part of the Canterbury A&P Show and is now in its 14th year and focusses on aromatic wines including Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Gris, Gewürztraminer, Viognier and other wine varieties including Muscat, Verdelho, Arneis, Rose and Sauvignon Gris, made in an aromatic style from any internationally recognised region. The competition was formerly known as the International Aromatic Wine Competition.) The judging was held over 15 and 16 October, and the panel was chaired by Terry Copeland with Sam Kim, Kate Radburnd, Jim Harre, Petter Evans, Jane Cooper and Jane Boyle as the senior judges.

In addition to the Aromatic Wine Competition, the show conducts the ‘New Zealand Winemaker of the Year’ (this replaces what was the N.Z. Young Winemaker of the Year). To enter this winemakers must submit three different wines that demonstrate the winemakers scope and ability, and put in an essay about the selected wines. The winner in 2016 was Patrick Newton of Mudbrick Vineyard on Waiheke Island, who entered his 2015 Reserve Chardonnay, 2013 Reserve Syrah and 2013 ‘Velvet’.
The Trophy Winners
New Zealand Winemaker of the Year
Patrick Newton, Mudbrick Vineyard

Supreme Champion Wine in Show Trophy
2016 Hunter’s Marlborough Gewürztraminer

Champion Riesling Trophy
TOHU Single Vineyard Marlborough Riesling 2015

Champion Sauvignon Blanc Trophy
Villa Maria Reserve Wairau Valley Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2016

Champion Gewurztraminer Trophy
2016 Hunter’s Marlborough Gewürztraminer

Champion Other AromaticTrophy
Saint Clair Marlborough Premium Grüner Vetliner 2015

Champion Pinot Gris Trophy
Baby Doll Marlborough Pinot Gris 2016

Champion Rosé Trophy
Matawhero Gisborne Pinot Rosé 2016

Champion Canterbury Wine Trophy
Waipara River Estate Canterbury Riesling SVR 2012
The Gold Medal Winners
The gold medal winning wines are listed here. A full list of medal winners can be seen at www.theshow.co.nz/show-entries/international-aromatic-wine-competition/#results
TOHU Single Vineyard Riesling 2015
Loveblock Marlborough Bone Dry Riesling 2011
Rockburn Central Otago Parkburn Riesling 2010
Waipara River Estate Riesling SVR 2012
Sauvignon Blanc
Tiki Single Vineyard Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2016
Villa Maria Reserve Wairau Valley Sauvignon Blanc 2016
Saint ClairWairau Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2016
Clearwater Cove Sauvignon Blanc 2016
The Crossings Sauvignon Blanc 2016
Giesen The Fuder Matthews Lane Sauvignon Blanc 2014
Ara Single Estate Sauvignon Blanc 2015
Pinot Gris
Junction Pastime Pinot Gris 2015
Kina Cliffs Pinot Gris 2016
Babydoll Pinot Gris 2016
Soho Jagger Pinot Gris 2016
Anna’s Way Pinot Gris 2016
Mount Michael Pinot Gris 2016
Ara Single Estate Pinot Gris 2015
Villa Maria Single Vineyard Ihumatao Gewürztraminer 2014
2016 Hunter’s Gewürztraminer
Spy Valley Gewürztraminer 2015
Other Aromatic Varieties
Coopers Creek SV The Little Rascal Gisborne Arneis 2014
Saint Clair Marlborough Premium Gruner Veltliner 2015
Sweet Aromatic Varieties
Giesen The Brothers Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc 2013
Matawhero Pinot Rosé 2016
Aspiring Flats Central Otago Rosé 2016
Museum Class 2011 and older
The Craft Series Pride & Glory Sauvignon Blanc 2011


Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.