General Blog

Helen Masters, Ata Rangi – Gourmet Traveller Wine N.Z. Winemaker of the Year 2019

By January 22, 2019July 27th, 2020No Comments

The second N.Z. Winemaker of the Year for the Australian-based ‘Gourmet Traveller Wine’ industry journal was announced at an awards dinner at Gusto at the Grand at SkyCity in Auckland in conjunction with sponsor Vintec. The award winner was Helen Masters of Ata Rangi in Martinborough who was one of six outstanding winemaker nominated, the other five being Dr Andrew Hedley of Framingham, Kevin Judd of Greywacke, Jen Parr of Valli, James Healy of Dog Point Vineyard, and Peter Cowley of Te Mata Estate, who was nominated for the second year in a row. Though running in Australia for 20 years, this 2019 award is the second time it has been conducted for New Zealand-only winemakers.

Three other awards were made in addition to N.Z. Winemaker of the Year. Rudi Bauer of Quartz Reef received the ‘Leadership Award’, Ivan Sutherland of Dog Point the ‘Viticulturist of the Year’, and Peter Cowley of Te Mata received a special one-off ‘Lifetime Achievement Award. The event was co-hosted and awards presented by Bob Campbell MW and GT Wine editor Judy Sarris. Bob Campbell MW had Cameron Douglas MS and myself as his co-judges for the event as last year. Last year’s winner of the N.Z. Winemaker of the Year 2018 was Dom Maxwell of Greystone Wines,

For more information, contact Judy Sarris on email at: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.