General Blog

Easter Show Wine Awards 2014 Trophy Winners

By March 23, 2014No Comments
The trophy winners of the 2014 Easter Show Wine Awards were announced at the awards dinner at Sky City in Auckland last night. The Easter Show competition is New Zealand’s oldest wine judging, this year being the 52nd event. It is run under the auspices of the Auckland Agricultural and Pastoral Association.

As with all trophy results, this year’s collection is an eclectic mix, being a selection of the best as voted on by the judges. The process is an interesting one where a wine with the most votes among the contenders for each trophy is deemed the winner. Stylistic interpretation, which has an element of subjectivity plays a strong part, and clearly wines which are innovative, different and progressive can and should do well.

The Champion Wine of the Show was the Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard Taylors Pass’ Marlborough Chardonnay 2012, which also won the Champion Chardonnay Trophy. This continues a very strong showing by Villa Maria with its Chardonnay wines from the past several years, and reinforces the company’s dominance on the wine judging circuit. This was also recognised by George Geris, Villa Maria’s Marlborough winemaker being named ‘Winemaker of the Year’. Villa Maria also won the Champion Cabernet Sauvignon & Merlot Trophy, and also the Champion Merlot Trophy with its Esk Valley brand. The other major recognition can in the award of the Heritage Category Rose Bowl with the 2005, 2008 and 2012 vintages of its ‘Single Vineyard Keltern’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay.

While each of the trophy wines has its point of interest, I note that Mudbrick Vineyard taking the Viognier Trophy follows on from last year’s result with another Waiheke Island wine winner. That Saint Clair took the Pinot Noir Trophy, this is a result long overdue from my perspective, as I am aware of the quality being achieved by this company with this varietal. And also noteworthy is the Syrah Trophy going to a Marlborough wine.

The New Zealand Wine Hall of Fame
The Easter Show this year inducted Alan Brady and Larry McKenna into its New Zealand Wine Hall of Fame. For interest, following is the list of those inducted to the New Zealand Wine Hall of Fame:

Inaugural 2005: James Busby, Romeo Bragato, Heinrich Breidecker, Charles Levet, Joseph Soler, Israel Wendel, Friedrich Wohnsiedler, Assid Abraham Corban, Tom McDonald, George Mazuran
2006: Mate Brajkovich, Alex Corban, David Hohnen, Frank Yukich
2007: Joseph Annis Corban, Dr Richard Smart, Ross Spence
2008: Bryan Mogridge, Kevyn Moore
2009: Peter Hubscher, Terry Dunleavy
2010: Ross Goodin, Richard Riddiford
2011: Sir George Fistonich
2012: John Buck
2013: Jane Hunter, Bob Campbell MW
2014: Alan Brady, Larry McKenna

The Trophy Winners
Following is a list of the 2014 Easter Show Wine Awards trophy winners. For a full list od the trophy winners, gold, silver and bronze medal winning wines, go to www.wineshow.co.nz For my analysis of the gold medal results, click here.

Champion Wine of the Show – O-I New Zealand Trophy:
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard Taylors Pass’ Chardonnay 2012

Wine Maker of the Year – Royal Agricultural Society Gold Medal:
George Geris (Villa Maria Estate)

Champion Sparkling – Rapid Labels Trophy:
Deutz ‘Marlborough Cuvée’ Blanc de Blancs 2009

Champion Riesling – Red Badge Security Trophy:
Greenhough Apple Valley Riesling 2013

Champion Gewürztraminer – The Village Press Trophy:
Grove Mill Wairau Valley Gewurztraminer 2013

Champion Pinot Gris – Datacom Trophy:
Wairau River Pinot Gris 2013

Champion Sauvignon Blanc – Guala Closures Trophy:
Vavasour Awatere Valley Sauvignon Blanc 2013

Champion Chardonnay – New World Trophy:
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard Taylors Pass’ Chardonnay 2012

Champion Viognier – DrinksBiz Trophy:
Mudbrick Vineyard ‘Reserve’ Viognier 2013

Champion Sweet Wine – Riedel Trophy:
Tohu ‘Raiha Reserve Limited Release’ Noble Riesling 2013

Champion Pinot Noir – New Zealand WineGrower Magazine Trophy:
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 22 Barn Block’ Pinot Noir 2012

Champion Cabernet Sauvignon & Merlot – United Cleaning Trophy:
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Gimblett Gravels Hawkes Bay Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2012

Champion Syrah – Sky City Trophy:
Giesen ‘The Brothers’ Marlborough Syrah 2011

Champion Merlot – Show Light & Power Ltd Trophy:
Esk Valley ‘Winemakers Reserve’ Gimblett Gravels Merlot/Malbec/Cabernet Sauvignon 2009

Heritage Category Rose Bowl:
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard Keltern’ Chardonnay 2005, 2009, 2012 vintages

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.