General Blog

Easter Show Wine Awards 2013 – Trophy Winners

By March 17, 2013No Comments
The trophy winners from the Easter Show Wine Awards 2013 were announced at an awards dinner last night. I understand that I have mistakenly called the wine competition ‘Royal’ in my previous blog article (click here to see) with the gold medal winning wines. This is not the case, and the show, run under the auspices of the Auckland Agricultural and Pastoral Association, has added ‘Diamond Jubilee’ in naming, to recognise 60 years of its running.

As usual, the trophy winners make an eclectic collection, all with quality that must be recognised. The Champion Wine of the Show, the Matua ‘Single Vineyard’ Marlborough Chardonnay 2011, which took the trophy for Champion Chardonnay, was Champion Chardonnay and Reserve Wine of the Show at last year’s Air New Zealand Wine Awards, and these awards are strong endorsements for the work that Matua Valley has done a achieving and bottling such quality. Winemaker Nikolai St George, who was named ‘Winemaker of the Year’ has been a judge at the Easter Show a number of years now. The Villa Maria Group was again dominant, taking three trophies, for Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot, and Syrah. Saint Clair and Pernod-Ricard each took two trophies.

It was a good night for Jane Hunter, with Hunters taking the ‘Heritage Rose Bowl’ for the Hunter’s Riesling 2012, 2009 and 2006, and Jane, along with Bob Campbell being inducted into the New Zealand Wine Hall of Fame. All of the medal results can be seen at www.wineshow.co.nz

Here are the trophy winners:

Champion Sparkling – Edward Sound Systems Trophy:
Deutz ‘Marlborough Cuvée’ Blanc de Blancs 2008

Champion Riesling – Red Badge Security Trophy:
Crosse Vineyard Marlborough Riesling 2012

Champion Pinot Gris – Datacom Trophy:
Brancott Estate ‘Special Reserve’ Pinot Gris 2012

Champion Sauvignon Blanc – Guala Closures Trophy:
Saint Clair ‘Wairau Reserve’ Sauvignon Blanc 2012

Champion Chardonnay – New World Trophy:
Matua ‘Single Vineyard’ Marlborough Chardonnay 2011

Champion Viognier – DrinksBiz Trophy:
Passage Rock Viognier 2012

Champion Wine of Other Varieties – United Cleaning Trophy:
Coopers Creek ‘SV’ Gisborne Albariño ‘Bell-Ringer’ 2012

Champion Gewürztraminer – The Village Press Trophy:
Saint Clair ‘Godfrey’s Creek Reserve’ Gewürztraminer 2009

Champion Sweet Wine – Riedel Trophy:
Giesen ‘The Brothers’ Marlborough Late Harvest Sauvignon Blanc 2012

Champion Rosé – Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Trophy:
Desert Heart ‘Magic Moments’ Rosé 2012
Champion Pinot Noir – New Zealand WineGrower Magazine Trophy:
Brennan ‘B2’ Pinot Noir 2011

Champion Merlot – Show Light & Power Ltd Trophy:
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2010

Champion Cabernet Sauvignon & Merlot – Auckland A & P Association Trophy:
Vidal ‘Legacy Series’ Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2009

Champion Syrah – Sky City Trophy:
Vidal ‘Legacy Series’ Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2009

Champion Export Wine – Rapid Labels Trophy:
Coal Pit ‘Tiwha’ Pinot Noir 2011

Wine Makers of the Year – Royal Agricultural Society Gold Medal:
Nikolai St George, Matua Valley Wines

Champion Wine of the Show – O-I New Zraland Trophy:
Matua ‘Single Vineyard’ Marlborough Chardonnay 2011


Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.