General Blog

Bragato Wine Awards 2014 – Trophy Winners

By August 29, 2014No Comments

The trophy awards for the 2014 Bragato Wine Awards were announced at the Bragato Dinner in Blenheim last night. The Champion Wine of the Show was the Vidal ‘Legacy’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2012, the fruit coming from the ‘Keltern’ vineyard, grown under the management of Phil Holden. Wining the ‘Bragato Trophy’ the wine also won the ‘Bill Irwin Trophy for Champion Chardonnay. As part of the Villa Maria Estates group, the Vidal team have achieved excellent results from their work in their Chardonnay vineyards and developing the styles with their winemaking over the last few years, the company taking many gold medal and champion awards at wine shows.

At the dinner, three wine industry pioneers were honoured, being inducted as Fellows of New Zealand Winegrowers. Hermann and Agnes Seifried of Nelson and Richard Riddiford of Martinborough have made outstanding contributions to the New Zealand grape and wine industry. And in recognising the young leaders of the industry, Paul Robinson of Villa Maria in Hawke’s Bay was announced the Young Viticulturist of the Year.  www.bragato.org.nz

Yesterday, I posted a list of the gold medal winning wines. (Click here to see.) Following are the trophy winners.
Champion Wine of Show and Bragato Trophy Winner
Vidal ‘Legacy’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2012
Keltern Vineyard – Hawke’s Bay
Phil Holden

Richard Smart Trophy Winner and Reserve Champion Wine
Mudbrick ‘Reserve’ Waiheke Island Syrah 2013
Mudbrick Vineyard – Waiheke Island
Nick Otto
Friedrich Wohnsiedler Trophy Winner and Champion Riesling
Wither Hills ‘Cellar Release’ ‘Kerseley’ Marlborough Riesling 2012
Kerseley Vineyard – Marlborough
Wendy and Owen Glover
Brother Cyprian Trophy Winner and Champion Pinot Gris
Blackenbrook Nelson Pinot Gris 2013
Blackenbrook Vineyard – Nelson
Daniel Schwarzenbach
Champion Gewürztraminer
Bladen Marlborough Gewurztraminer 2013
Paynters Road – Marlborough
Keven and Kerry Tilly
Champion Other White Wine
Elephant Hill Hawke’s Bay Viognier 2013
Te Awanga, Gimblett and Triangle Vineyards – Hawke’s Bay
Jon Peet
Champion Dessert Wine
Saint Clair ‘Godfrey’s Creek Reserve’ Marlborough Noble Riesling 2013
Woodbourne Farm Ltd – Marlborough
John and Lynne Walsh
New Zealand Wine Cellars Spence Brothers Trophy Winner and Champion Sauvignon Blanc
Starborough Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2014
O’Dwyers Farm Vineyard – Marlborough
James Jones
Champion Sparkling Wine
Osawa ‘Prestige Collection’ Hawke’s Bay Méthode Traditionelle Brut NV
Osawa Wines – Hawke’s Bay
Brent Stone
Bill Irwin Trophy Winner and Champion Chardonnay
Vidal ‘Legacy’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2012
Keltern Vineyard – Hawke’s Bay
Phil Holden
Champion Rosé
Wooing Tree Central Otago Rosé 2014
Wooing Tree Vineyard – Central Otago
Geoff Bews
Mike Wolter Memorial Trophy Winner and Champion Pinot Noir
Bald Hills ‘3 Acres’ Central Otago Pinot Noir 2013
Bald Hills Vineyard – Central Otago
Blair Hunt
Tom Mcdonald Memorial Trophy Winner and Champion Classical Red Wine
Mills Reef ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Merlot/Malbec 2013
Mere Road, Trust Vineyards – Hawke’s Bay
Paul McEvoy
Alan Limmer Trophy Winner and Champion Syrah
Mudbrick ‘Reserve’ Waiheke Island Syrah 2013
Mudbrick Vineyard – Waiheke Island
Nick Otto

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.