General Blog

Bragato Wine Awards 2012 – Gold Medal Winners

By August 23, 2012No Comments

The medal results of the 2012 Bragato Wine Awards, judged on 19 and 20 August in Blenheim have been announced. The competition remains one of the most interesting in my opinion, as it recognises the efforts of growers and the quality as well as individuality of single vineyard wines. This is of course a step on the way in recognising ‘terroir’. The judging was chaired by show circuit veteran Olly Masters who led a team of highly experienced industry personnel. There were 48 gold (8.9%), 109 silver (20.4%) and 226 bronze medals (42.3%) awarded from 534 wines entered, this being very similar to the numbers and proportions as last year.

Looking at the performance of the varieties across all the medals, Chardonnay appears to have been the standout variety, with Sauvignon Blanc down, possibly reflecting the shorter vintage. Riesling was also another highly recognised variety with proportionally higher medals awarded over Pinot Gris, which has seen a pleasing overall rise in quality, especially since the 2010 vintage. The ‘Other White Varieties’ category is also showing strongly with Albarino joining Gruner Veltliner and Viognier in the gold medal stakes. And also encouraging is the high number of awards for Dessert Wines, styles which are difficult to get right. The Bordeaux red varieties did not show strongly, though Cabernet Sauvignon-based wines not being trounced by Merlot-based wines. As expected, there were a good proportion of Pinot Noir golds, a quarter of the total, awarded, whereas Syrah did not have a strong showing.
With regard to region, Nelson performed exceptionally well, with 10 of the golds.  Otago wines took 12 golds, of which 3 were from the Waitaki Valley in North Otago, these coming from the Pasquale winery.  Marlborough took 13 of the gold medals and Hawke’s Bay 9 from the total of 48 awarded.
The full results can be seen on www.wineshow.co.nz and the trophy winners will be announced at the Bragato Conference Dinner tonight. I will post the trophy winners on my website in due course.
I list the gold medal winners, and the grower or viticulturist responsible if available, here:
Brightwater Vineyards Nelson 2011 – Gary Neale
John Forrest ‘Collection’ Wairau Valley 2007 – Dr John Forrest
Mansion House Bay Marlborough 2011 – David & Vicki Day
Mansion House Bay Marlborough 2010 – David & Vicki Day
Richmond Plains Nelson 2011 – Jon Harrey
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Ihumatao’ Auckland 2011 – Brett Donaldson
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Keltern’ Hawke’s Bay 2011 – Mark Dixon
Sauvignon Blanc
Mud House ‘The Woolshed Vineyard’ Marlborough 2011 – Stephen Dempster
Mud House ‘Single Vineyard – Neal’ Marlborough 2011 – Stephen Dempster
Peter Yealands Marlborough 2012 – Peter Yealands
Tiki ‘Single Vineyard’ Marlborough 2011 – James Nightingale
Waimea Nelson 2012 – Ben Bolitho
Brightwater Vineyards Nelson 2012 – Gary Neale
Esk Valley Marlborough Dry 2011 – Jerome Waldron
Pasquale ‘16′ Waitaki Valley 2010 – Antonio Pasquale
Waimea ‘Classic’ Nelson 2009 – Ben Bolitho
Waimea ‘Late Harvest’ Nelson 2008 – Ben Bolitho
Waipara Hills ‘Equinox’ Waipara 2011 – Stephen Dempster
Pinot Gris
Gibbston Valley ‘Gold River’ Central Otago 2012 – Christopher Keys
Greystone Waipara 2011 – Bruce Thomas/Nick Gill
Sacred Hill Marlborough 2011
Other Whites
Coopers Creek ‘Select Vineyards – The Bell Ringer’ Gisborne Albarino 2012 – Doug & Delwyn Bell
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 5 – Bull Block’ Marlborough Gruner Veltliner 2011 – Robert & Heather Goulter
Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Omahu Gravels’ Hawke’s Bay Viognier 2010 – Phil Holden
Waimea Nelson Viognier 2010 – Ben Bolitho
Sparkling Wines
No. 1 Family Estate ‘Cuvee Remy’ Marlborough NV – Daniel Le Brun
Dessert Wines
Osawa Late Harvest Gewurztraminer Hawke’s Bay 2011
Pasquale ‘Plump’ Late Harvest Pinot Gris Waitaki Valley 2011 – Antonio Pasquale
Pasquale ‘Shrivel’ Late Harvest Riesling Waitaki Valley 2011 – Antonio Pasquale
Seifried ‘Winemakers Collection – Sweet Agnes’ Riesling Nelson 2012 – Hermann Seifried
Cabernet Sauvignon Predominant
Mills Reef ‘Elspeth’ Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay Cabernet/Merlot 2010 – Paul McEvoy
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2008 – Phil Holden
Merlot Predominant
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2009 – Phil Holden
Pinot Noir
Akarua Central Otago 2011
Bannock Brae ‘Goldfields’ Central Otago 2010 – Crawford Brown
Brightwater ‘Lord Rutherford’ Nelson 2010 – Gary Neale
Domain Road Central Otago 2011 – Graeme Crosbie
Grasshopper Rock Central Otago 2010 – Mike Moffitt
Mud House Central Otago 2011 – Stephen Dempster
Pisa Range ‘Black Poplar’ Central Otago 2010 – Warwick Hawker
Rockburn Central Otago 2010 – Chris James, Richard Bunton, Paul Halford
Saint Clair ‘Omaka Reserve’ Marlborough 2010 – Geoff & Mary Buick
Saint Clair ‘Pioneer Block 4 – Sawcut’ Marlborough 2011 – Geoff & Mary Buick
Two Degrees Central Otago 2010 – Diana & Richard Somerville
Woollaston Nelson 2011 – Julian Coakley
Other Reds
Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay Malbec 2009 – Phil Holden
Esk Valley ‘Winemakers Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay 2010 – Bob Newton
Mills Reef ‘Elspeth’ Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay 2010 – Paul McEvoy

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.