General Blog

Air New Zealand Wine Awards 2010 Gold Medal Winners

By November 10, 2010No Comments

The medal results for the 2010 ANZWA have been released, with the trophies to be announced at the Auckland awards dinner on Saturday 20 November. There were 107 gold medals awarded, of which the star category was Pinot Noir with 32 golds. Riesling performed superbly with 12 golds, while as expected, Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay both were awarded 14 golds each. The important Pinot Gris and Syrah varieties each captured 7 golds.

The successful Pinot Noir wines came mainly from the excellent 2009 vintage, with 24 golds and 8 for 2008 wines. 14, nearly half of the gold Pinot Noirs came from Central Otago with 13 from Marlborough. The gold medal Rieslings ranged from 2007 to 2010 in vintage. All of the gold medal Sauvignon Blancs came from the 2010 vintage from Marlborough bar one Waipara wine and one 2009 wine. As could be expected, all of the gold medal Syrah, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon wines were from Hawke’s Bay in origin.

Villa Maria Estates and its associated brands was a most successful entrant, taking 8 of the Chardonnay golds and a tally of 18 gold medals in total. Next came the Pernod-Ricard group with 7 gold medals.

The gold medals were proportionally awarded to the size of the growing regions, with Marlborough capturing 47 golds, Hawke’s Bay 23 and Central Otago 17. Waipara featured with 9 golds and Nelson with 5.

The gold medals can be seen here:
The full medal results can be seen at:

Leave a Reply

Latest wine reviews, news, events and more. 🍷
We respect your privacy.