The Hunting Lodge 2018 Marlborough Pinot Gris and ‘Home Block’ Sauvignon Blanc
Fernhook Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2018
Haha 2018 Hawke’s Bay Pinot Gris and Merlot
Raymond Chan Wine Reviews Recommences Service
Raymond in Hospital
Villa Maria ‘Seddon’ Marlborough Pinot Noir 2013
Saint Clair ‘Wairau Reserve’ Sauvignon Blanc 2018
Ribbonwood Marlborough Pinot Noir 2016
Paddy Borthwick 2018 Rosé, Riesling, Pinot Gris and ‘Falloon’ Pinot Noir
The Luminary and Pencarrow 2018 Pinot Gris
Theory & Practice 2018 Rosé and Pinot Gris, and Craft Farm 2017 Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, and 2016 Syrah
Wooing Tree Central Otago Pinot Noir 2016
Hancock & Sons 2018 ‘Lillies’ Rosé and Chardonnay
Mondillo 2016 Pinot Noir and 2018 ‘Nina’ Late Harvest Riesling
Neck of the Woods Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2017
Mud House 2018 Central Otago, 2017 ‘The Narrows’ and 2016 ‘Claim 431’ Pinot Noirs
Italian Selection from Macvine International
Gladstone Vineyard and 12,000 Miles 2018 Releases and 2016 ‘Sophie’s Choice’
Moy Hall Martinborough Rosé, Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir Releases
Summerhouse ‘Monarch’ Marlborough Pinot Noir 2015
Haha Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2018
Framingham 2018 Sauvignon Blanc, 2017 Classic Riesling, 2018 Select and Noble Rieslings, and 2017 Pinot Noir
Rojo ‘Gran Rojo’ Tempranillo Rosado 2017
The Hunting Lodge 2018 Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc and Albarino, and 2018 White Mischief
Forrest 2017 and 2016 Gruner Veltliner, 2014 Chardonnay, and John Forrest ‘Collection’ Pinot Noir 2013
// View More Featured Reviews

General Blog

Royal Easter Show Wine Awards 2018 – Trophy Winners


The trophy winning wines of the 2018 Royal Easter Show Wine Awards were announced at the awards dinner at the Pullman Hotel in Auckland last night. The Champion Wine of the Show was the Te Awa ‘Single Estate’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2016, and the Winemaker of the Year was awarded to Richard Painter of Te Awa Winery in Hawke’s Bay. This is a well-deserve award for Te Awa Winery and Richard Painter, who under the Villa Maria Estates umbrella have taken the wines to higher levels of quality over the last few years. Villa Maria also performed well, taking the Champion Syrah Trophy and the Heritage Rosebowl for the ‘Reserve’ Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot over the 2015, 2010 and 2005 vintages.

The Royal Easter Show Wine Awards is this country’s longest running wine competition. It serves a very important function by its timing at the start of the year, when judging occurs just before vintage. This allows many wines to come together and develop more than if the wines were judged at the latter part of the previous year, when most of the wine shows are held. And commercially, it provides another time and opportunity to promote and sell wines, instead of a crowded time before the holiday season.

The Trophy Winners
Following are the trophy winners of the 2018 Royal Easter Show Wine Awards. For a list of the 71 golds and my analysis, click here. For all of the medal winning wines, visit

Guala Closures NZ Champion Wine of the Show:
Te Awa Single Estate Hawkes Bay Chardonnay 2016

Guala Closures NZ Trophy for Champion Sauvignon Blanc:
Whitehaven Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2017

Red Badge Security Trophy for Champion Riesling:
Ceres Bannockburn Black Rabbit Riesling 2017

Esvin Wine Resources Trophy for Champion Pinot Gris:
Giesen Estate Pinot Gris 2017

MyFarm Trophy for Champion Gewürztraminer:
Spy Valley Single Estate Gewurztraminer 2016

New World Trophy for Champion Chardonnay:
Te Awa Single Estate Hawkes Bay Chardonnay 2016

Glengarry Wines Trophy for Champion Other Varieties
Summerhouse Marlborough Verdelho 2016

Rapid Labels Trophy for Champion Sparkling:
Hawkesbridge Marlborough Méthode Traditionnelle 2014

Drinksbiz Magazine Trophy for Champion Sweet Wine:
Riverby Estate Noble Riesling 2015

Auckland Agricultural & Pastoral Association Trophy for Champion Rosé:
The Ned Pinot Rosé 2017

New Zealand WineGrower Magazine Trophy for Champion Pinot Noir:
Two Degrees Pinot Noir 2016

Generator Rental Services Trophy for Champion Merlot:
Saint Clair Pioneer Block 17 Plateau Merlot 2016

Wineworks Trophy for Champion Cabernet Sauvignon & Blends:
Mills Reef Reserve Cabernet Merlot 2016

ASB Showgrounds Trophy for Champion Syrah:
Villa Maria Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawkes Bay Syrah 2016

Mainfreight Trophy for Champion Export Wine:
Babich Hawke's Bay Merlot Cabernet 2016

Auckland Agricultural & Pastoral Association Heritage Rosebowl
Villa Maria Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawkes Bay Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2005, 2010, 2015

Auckland Agricultural & Pastoral Association Gold Medal for Winemaker of the Year
Richard Painter, Te Awa Winery, Hawkes Bay
Copyright © 2011 Raymond Chan Wine Reviews
Website by DataFlex | Design by Skinny