Spade Oak Methode Blanc de Blancs NV and Tempranillo Rosé 2017
Gate 20 Two Central Otago Pinot Noir 2015
Waitapu Estate ‘Reef View’ Northland Pinotage 2016 and 2015
The Crossings 2017 Sauvignon and Pinot Gris, and 2016 Gruner and Pinot Noir
Whistling Buoy 2016 ‘Kokolo’ Chardonnay and Pinot Noir, and ‘Half Acre’ Pinot Noir
Rossendale 2017 Sauvignon Blanc and 2016 Reserve Pinot Noir
The Luminary 2017 Sauvignon Blanc
Waipara Hills Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2017
Gate 20 Two Central Otago 2016 Pinot Gris and 2014 Pinot Noir
Clearview 2017 Blush, Gewurztraminer, Chardonnay, and 2016 Merlot
Urbn Vino Dunedin ‘Reserve’ 2016 Pinot Noir
American and Australian Imports by Procure
Obsidian ‘Estate’ Waiheke Island Chardonnay 2017
Pinot Noir Naturel by Fromm 2017
Te Mania Nelson Riesling 2016 – A Re-Look
The Luminary 2017 Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir
Maori Point Central Otago 2017 Pinot Gris and Riesling
No. 1 Family Estate Rosé and No. 1 Reserve Methodes
Domaine Rewa Central Otago Chardonnay 2016
Spade Oak ‘Voysey’ Le Champ and 2017 Chardonnay, and 2016 ‘HOG’ St Laurent and Tempranillo, and 2016 ‘The Prospect’ Chardonnay
Locharburn 2017 Riesling, Pinot Gris and Sauvignon Blanc
Saint Clair ‘Wairau Reserve’ Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2017
Clos Henri, Bel Echo and Petit Clos Releases, and New Methode and Late Harvest Wines
Charles Smith Washington State 2015 Riesling, Chardonnay and Syrah
Theory & Practice and Craft Farm Aromatic Wines, 2017, 2016 and 2015
// View More Featured Reviews

General Blog

Royal Easter Show Wine Awards 2017 – Trophy Winners


The trophy winners of the 2017 Royal Easter Show Wine Awards were announced at the awards dinner at The Pullman Hotel on Saturday night. The Champion Wine of the Show was awarded to the Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2014. This wine was also last year’s Royal Easter Show Wine Awards Champion Trophy winner. I believe this is an unprecedented result where the same wine has taken the top award at the Easter Show in two consecutive years.

As mentioned in my report on the gold medal winners from the show, Villa Maria was the most successful entrant, and this year, the Villa Maria group of companies (including Thornbury) took four of the other category trophies out of 13 awarded, plus the Winemaker of the Year gold medal, going again to Villa Maria’s chief winemaker Nick Picone. The results yet again reinforce Villa Maria’s dominance in wine judging competitions. There is no doubt that the Villa Maria group of companies are making benchmark wines across a broad range of categories, and thus can be counted as one of this country’s top wine producers.

A growing number of wine competitions have awards for older library wines and those that show consistency over a number of vintages. The concept is very strong in Australia, and with New Zealand’s increasing maturity, it is an apt recognition for our industry. Winner of this year’s Heritage Rosebowl was the Hunter’s Marlborough Riesling 2006, 2010 and 2016.

Click here to see a list of the gold medal winning wines, and my analysis of the gold medal results. Go to for all the medal winners. Here are the trophy and major award winners at the Royal Easter Show Wine Awards 2017:

Champion Wine of the Show
Villa Maria Reserve Hawkes Bay Chardonnay 2014

Champion Methode Champenoise or Sparkling
Te Hana Reserve Cuvee NV

Champion Chardonnay
Villa Maria Reserve Hawkes Bay Chardonnay 2014

Champion Gewurztraminer
Giesen The Brothers Gewurztraminer 2014

Champion Sauvignon Blanc
Thornbury Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2016

Champion Riesling
Mount Brown Estates Riesling 2016

Champion Pinot Gris
Waipara Hills Pinot Gris Waipara Valley 2016

Champion Other White or Red Varieties
Villa Maria Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawkes Bay Malbec 2013

Champion Sweet Wine
Whitehaven Marlborough Noble Riesling 2014

Champion Rosé
Whitehaven Marlborough Pinot Rosé 2016

Champion Pinot Noir
Wild Earth Special Edition Pinot Noir 2014

Champion Cabernet Sauvignon or Cabernet predominate
Villa Maria Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawkes Bay Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2013

Champion Merlot or Merlot predominate
Mission Estate VS Merlot 2015

Champion Syrah
Goldie Estate Reserve Syrah 2014

Gold Medal for Winemaker of the Year
Nick Picone (Villa Maria)

Heritage Rosebowl
Hunter's Wines NZ Ltd Marlborough Riesling 2006, 2010, 2016

The New Zealand Wine Hall of Fame
Also announced at the awards dinner was the latest inductee into the New Zealand Wine Hall of Fame. For 2017, it was Alan Limmer, formerly of Stonecroft Wines, especially recognised for his work with the Syrah variety. Following is a list of inductees to date:

Inaugural 2005: James Busby, Romeo Bragato, Heinrich Breidecker, Charles Levet, Joseph Soler, Israel Wendel, Friedrich Wohnsiedler, Assid Abraham Corban, Tom McDonald, George Mazuran
2006: Mate Brajkovich, Alex Corban, David Hohnen, Frank Yukich
2007: Joseph Annis Corban, Dr Richard Smart, Ross Spence
2008: Bryan Mogridge, Kevyn Moore
2009: Peter Hubscher, Terry Dunleavy
2010: Ross Goodin, Richard Riddiford
2011: Sir George Fistonich
2012: John Buck
2013: Jane Hunter, Bob Campbell MW
2014: Alan Brady, Larry McKenna
2015: Peter Babich, Joe Babich
2016: Oz Clarke
2017: Dr Alan Limmer


Copyright © 2011 Raymond Chan Wine Reviews
Website by DataFlex | Design by Skinny