Spencer Hill ‘Latitude 41’ 2017 Sauvignon Sur Lie and ‘Reserve’ Fumé 2015
Huntress 2018 ‘Waikura’ Rosé and 2017 Pinot Noir
Harwood Hall 2018 Sauvignon, 2017 Pinot Gris and Rose, 2016 Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah
Sisters Ridge North Canterbury 2018 Sauvignon Blanc and 2017 Pinot Noir
Te Aro Wine ‘Tastes Like’ 2016 Sauvignon Blanc and 2017 Syrah
Gimblett Gravels 2016 Annual Vintage Selection
te Pa Marlborough 2018 Rosé, Sauvignon and Pinot Gris, and 2017 Chardonnay and ‘Oke’
Mount Brown North Canterbury Pinot Gris 2018
Rock Ferry Methode, 3rd Rock, and Marlborough and Central Otago SV Releases
Australian, Spanish and Californian Wines from RM Wine Partners
Blank Canvas Wines from Matt and Sophie Thomson
Fifth Bridge Central Otago 2018 Rosé, and 2017 Pinot Gris, Riesling, Pinot Noir and LH Riesling
Koha Marlborough 2018 Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Gris, and 2017 Pinot Noir
Providore Central Otago Wines from Peter Bartle
Mission ‘Jewelstone’ Gimblett Gravels Syrah 2016
Fairhall Downs ‘Family Estate’ Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2018
Smoking Loon Chardonnay, and McManis Pinot Noir and Petite Sirah from 2017
Kaimira Estate Brightwater Sauvignon Blanc 2016
Grava Martinborough 2017 Rosé and LH Sauvignon Blanc
Stonecroft 2018 ‘Crofters’ and ‘Undressed’, and 2016 ‘Reserve’ Syrahs
South River Central Otago Rosé, Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir
Hawksdrift 2018 Sauvignon Blanc and 2016 Barrel Whites and Single Vineyard Pinot Noir
Elephant Hill Central Otago Pinot Noir 2017
Pa Road 2018 Rosé, Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Gris, and 2017 Chardonnay and Pinot Noir
Spade Oak ‘Voysey’ Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2017
// View More Featured Reviews

General Blog

New Zealand International Wine Show 2018 Trophy Winners


The trophy winning wines of the 2018 New Zealand International Wine Show were announced at the awards dinner at the Crowne Plaza in Auckland last night. The Champion Wine of the Show was the Matt Connell Wines ‘Rendition’ Central Otago Pinot Noir 2017.

Chardonnay has been the most winning variety taking the top award at the show 10 times since the shows inception in 2005, with Pinot Noir only twice and a Shiraz once, so it is good to see Pinot Noir feature again. The Winemaker of the Show was Stu Marfell of Foley Family Wines, best known for his winemaking at Vavasour in Marlborough. It comes as no surprise that the Champion Wine Company of the Year was Villa Maria who won 4 trophies, 18 golds, 18 silvers and 57 bronze medals. This is a continuation of the dominance that this company has had at wine shows over decades of wine competitions.

Trophy Winners
Here are the trophy winners from the show. For a list of the 257 gold medals and my analysis of the gold medal winners, click here, and for all the gold, silver and bronze medal winners, go to

EuroVintage Trophy for Champion Sauvignon Blanc
Grove Mill Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2018

MOBEV Trophy for Champion Pinot Gris
Three Miners 'Miner's Right' Central Otago Pinot Gris 2018

Kahurangi Estate Trophy for Champion Riesling
Two Rivers Juliet Riesling 2018

Rapid Labels Trophy for Champion Gewürztraminer
Villa Maria Single Vineyard Ihumatao Gewürztraminer 2017

Procure Trophy for Champion Chardonnay
Te Awa Single Estate Hawkes Bay Chardonnay 2017

Land of Wine Trophy for Champion Other White Wine Varieties
Tahbilk Marsanne 2014

Kahurangi Estate Trophy for Champion Champagne & Methode Traditionelle
Champagne Lanson Gold Label Brut 2008

New Zealand Wine and Spirit Merchants Trophy for Champion New Zealand Sparkling Wine
Deutz Rosé NV

Vino Fino Trophy for Champion Sweet Wine
Forrest Botrytised Riesling 2017

New Zealand Wine and Spirit Merchants Trophy for Champion Commercial White Wine
Lawson's Dry Hills Marlborough Riesling 2016

Guala Closures NZ Trophy for Champion Rosé
Domain Road Central Otago Pinot Noir Rosé 2018

Negociants NZ Trophy for Champion Champion Pinot Noir
Matt Connell Wines Rendition Pinot Noir 2017

Phase Trophy for Champion New Zealand Bordeaux Red Wine
Villa Maria Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawkes Bay Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2016

EuroVintage Trophy for Champion Cabernet Sauvignon & Predominant Blends
Penny's Hill Edwards Road McLaren Vale Cabernet Sauvignon 2016

Vintners Trophy for Champion Merlot & Predominant Blends
Church Road McDonald Series Hawkes Bay Merlot 2015

Vintners Trophy for Champion New Zealand Syrah
Esk Valley Winemakers Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawkes Bay Syrah 2014

San Pellegrino Trophy for Champion Shiraz/Syrah & Predominant Blends
Reillys Dry Land Clare Valley Shiraz 2016

Riedel Trophy for Champion International Red Wine Varieties
Vigne Vecchie Leggenda Primitivo Di Manduria 2016

MOBEV Trophy for Champion Commercial Red Wine
Kingston Estate Shiraz 2017

Wine Orbit Trophy for Champion Fortified Wine
Croft Vintage Port 2011

New Zealand International Wine Show Trophy for Champion Avant Garde Label of the Show
Take it to the Grave Shiraz 2017

New Zealand International Wine Show Trophy for Champion Outstanding Wine Label of the Year
One Off Clone Wars Chardonnay 2017

First Glass Champion Wine Company of the Year
Villa Maria

Nissan NZ Champion Winemaker of the Show
Stu Marfell – Foley Family Wines

Nissan NZ Champion Wine of the Show
Matt Connell Wines Rendition Central Otago Pinot Noir 2017

Legend of New Zealand Wine - The Sir George Fistonich Medal
The New Zealand International Wine Show states: "Many people have played important roles in making New Zealand wine the success that it now is. Each year the New Zealand International Wine Show will honour the person that has been selected for his or her outstanding contribution to New Zealand wine. To acknowledge that person, a special award has been created and named in honour of a person who unquestionably has made one of the greatest contributions to the New Zealand Wine Industry. The award will be known each year as The Sir George FistonichMedal.”

I was honoured to be the 2017 recipient of the award. This year the award went to Tim and Judy Finn of Neudorf Vineyards in Nelson. Here are the people awarded the medal to date:

2018 - Tim and Judy Finn
2017 – Raymond Chan
2016 – Richard Riddiford (awarded posthumously)
2015 – Clive Weston
2014 – Steve Smith MW
2013 – Peter and Joe Babich
2012 – Vic Williams
2011 – Alan Brady
2010 – Kate Radburnd
2009 – Michael Cooper ONZM
2008 – Larry McKenna
2007 – Terry Dunleavy MBE, FWINZ
2006 – Kevin Judd
2005 – Bob Campbell MW
Copyright © 2011 Raymond Chan Wine Reviews
Website by DataFlex | Design by Skinny