Alexander and Dusty Road 2017 Martinborough Pinot Noirs
Delta Marlborough 2017 Rosé, Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir, and 2016 ‘Hatters Hill’ Chardonnay
Haha ‘Brut Rosé’ NV
Mudbrick ‘Francesca’ Waiheke Island Chardonnay 2017
Poggio Anima Italian Reds from Procure
Haha Hawke’s Bay Rosé 2018
Carrick 2017 ‘Unravelled’, 2016 ‘Crown and Cross’ and 2014 ‘Excelsior’ Pinot Noirs
Jules Taylor 2017 Gruner Veltliner, Chardonnay and Pinot Noir
Mister and Te Awanga Estate 2017 Releases
The Boneline 2017 Amphitheatre’ Cabernet Franc and 2015 ‘Iridium’
Yalumba ‘The Scribbler’ Cabernet Shiraz 2015
Fairbourne Estate Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2017
Cambridge Road Martinborough 2016 ‘Animus Noir’ and 2017 and 2013 Pinot Noirs
Greenhough ‘Hope Vineyard’ 2017 Sauvignon Blanc, 2016 Chardonnay and 2014 Riesling
Lamont Central Otago 2017 Pinot Gris, 2016 Riesling, Chardonnay and Pinot Noir
Nine Stones McLaren Vale Shiraz 2016
Vidal 2017 ‘Soler’ Chardonnay and 2016 ‘Legacy’ Syrah and Cabernet Merlot
Brennan 2017 Riesling and ‘Trio’, 2015 ‘B2’ Pinot Noir and 2014 Pinot Noir
Prophets Rock 2017 Pinot Gris. 2016 Dry Riesling, 2017 ‘Infusion’ and ‘Rocky Point’ Pinot Noirs and 2015 ‘Home’ Pinot Noir
Rapaura Springs ‘Reserve’ Marlborough Pinot Gris 2017
Barrington ‘River Block’ Pinot Rosé 2017 – A Re-Look
Sherwood ‘Stoney Range’ and ‘Sherwood’ 2018 Waipara Sauvignon Blanc
Spade Oak ‘Voysey’ Pinot Gris 2018
Jackson Estate – A Broad Selection from a Marlborough Pioneer
Dunnolly Estate Waipara 2017 ‘Reserve’ Chardonnay, and Pinot Noir
// View More Featured Reviews

General Blog

New Zealand International Wine Show 2017 – Trophy Winners


The trophy winning wines from the 2017 New Zealand International Wine Show were announced at the awards dinner at the Crowne Plaza, Auckland last night. He Champion Wine of the Show was the Villa Maria ‘Reserve’ Marlborough Chardonnay 2016. This wine continues the golden run of gold medals and trophies awarded to Villa Maria Chardonnay wines over the years. The Chardonnays from the Villa Maria Family of Wineries has never been better, and they make an incredibly wonderful collection of wines. Chardonnay under the Villa Maria, Vidal, Esk Valley and Kidnapper Cliffs labels are truly exciting.

This is the tenth Chardonnay to take the Champion Wine of the Show at the New Zealand International Wine Show since its inception in 2005. Last year’s Champion Wine of the Show was the Clearview ‘Reserve’ Hawke’s Bay Chardonnay 2015. The Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Taylors Pass’ Marlborough Chardonnay 2014 was the champion in 2015, with the Marsden ‘Black Rock’ Chardonnay 2013 the 2014 winner. In 2013 the Nautilus 2012 took the top spot, and in 2011 it was Villa Maria ‘Keltern’ 2010. The Church Road ‘Reserve’ 2008 was the champion in 2010, West Brook Barrique Fermented 2007 in 2009, Church Road ‘Reserve 2006 in 2008 and the Black Barn Barrel Fermented 2004 in 2005 were the other Chardonnay champion wines.

The Winemaker of the Show was awarded to Chris Scott of Church Road, who won 4 gold medals, 4 silvers, 7 bronze medals and 2 trophies. The Champion Wine Company of the year was awarded to EuroVintage, whose wines won 3 trophies, 31 gold medals, 39 silvers and 64 bronzes.

The Trophy Winners
Following is a list of the trophy winners. For a list of all the 243 gold medal winners, and my analysis, click here. For a list of all of the medal winners, go to

EuroVintage Champion Sauvignon Blanc
Whitehaven Awatere 'Greg' Single Vineyard Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2017

Procure Liquor Champion Chardonnay
Villa Maria Reserve Marlborough Chardonnay 2016

Kahurangi Estate Champion Riesling
Beach House Stoney Beach Gravels Hawkes Bay Riesling 2017

Constellation Brands Champion Pinot Gris
Dashwood Marlborough Pinot Gris 2017

Rapid Labels Champion Gewürztraminer
The Family Company Gisborne Gewürztraminer 2016

Negociants NZ Champion Viognier
Linden Estate Hawke's Bay Viognier 2014

Brandmarks Champion Other White Wine Varieties
Tyrrells Vat 1 Hunters Semillon 2006

Federal Merchants & Co. Champion New Zealand Sparkling Wine
Verde Brut NV

Kahurangi Estate Champion Champagne & Methode Traditionelle
Louis Roederer Brut Vintage Champagne 2009

Federal Merchants & Co. Champion Sweet Wine
Riverby Estate Noble Riesling 2015

New Zealand Wine & Spirit Merchant Champion Commercial White Wine
Summerhouse Marlborough Chardonnay 2016

Guala Closures Champion Rosé
Gibbston Highgate ‘Lovemaker’ Central Otago Rosé 2017

Negociants NZ Champion Pinot Noir
Invivo Michelle’s Central Otago Pinot Noir 2016

EuroVintage Champion Cabernet Sauvignon & Predominant Blends
Three Dark Horses ‘The Bandy’ McLaren Vale Cabernet Sauvignon 2016

Federal Merchants & Co. Champion Merlot Predominant & Blends
Church Road McDonald Series Hawke’s Bay Merlot 2015

Phase3 Strategic Creative Champion New Zealand Bordeaux Red Wine
Villa Maria Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawke’s Bay Malbec 2013

Federal Merchants & Co. Champion New Zealand Syrah
Church Road McDonald Series Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2015

San Pelligrino Champion Shiraz/Syrah & Predominant Blends
Tenafeate Creek One Tree Hill Judgement Shiraz 2014

Riedel Champion International Red Wine Varieties
Vigne Vecchie Leggenda Primitivo di Manduria 2015

Constellation Brands Champion Commercial Red Wine
Villa Maria Cellar Selection Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2015
Wine Orbit Champion Fortified Wine
Lustau San Emilio Pedro Ximenez
First Glass Champion Wine Company of the Year
Nissan NZ Champion Winemaker of the Show
Chris Scott – Church Road Wines
Nissan NZ Champion Wine of the Show
Villa Maria Reserve Marlborough Chardonnay 2016
Legend of New Zealand Wine - The Sir George Fistonich Medal
The New Zealand International Wine Show states: "Many people have played important roles in making New Zealand wine the success that it now is. Each year the New Zealand International Wine Show will honour the person that has been selected for his or her outstanding contribution to New Zealand wine. To acknowledge that person, a special award has been created and named in honour of a person who unquestionably has made one of the greatest contributions to the New Zealand Wine Industry. The award will be known each year as The Sir George Fistonich Medal.”

I was honoured to be the 2017 recipient of the award.  Following is the New Zealand International Wine Show’s summary: "Raymond Chan has devoted the past 30 years to the promotion of fine wine, in particular fine New Zealand wine. Wine judge, wine critic, wine writer and wine salesman. From his Wellington base Raymond is known throughout the country for his brilliant wine reviews and his passion for the industry.  A genuine legend of New Zealand wine.”

Here are the people awarded the medal to date:

2017 – Raymond Chan
2016 – Richard Riddiford (awarded posthumously)
2015 – Clive Weston
2014 – Steve Smith MW
2013 – Peter and Joe Babich
2012 – Vic Williams
2011 – Alan Brady
2010 – Kate Radburnd
2009 – Michael Cooper ONZM
2008 – Larry McKenna
2007 – Terry Dunleavy MBE, FWINZ
2006 – Kevin Judd
2005 – Bob Campbell MW

I felt very humbled and privileged to receive and accept the award. I believe there are other people who deserve the award. To me, the New Zealand wine industry is made up of inspirational people. In many ways, they are not only friends but my heroes. I love New Zealand wine and the people who grow and make it, and I admire their hard work, creativity and generosity. So I’m very appreciative of being associated with the industry and very pleased to be of service to it. There have been many mentors who have fostered my involvement and that of many other people. They include Sir George Fistonich and Kingsley Wood. I also acknowledge the considerable contribution of my partner Sue Davies in my approach, understanding and support of my work. The award is an incentive for me to continue to support and serve the New Zealand wine industry.

Copyright © 2011 Raymond Chan Wine Reviews
Website by DataFlex | Design by Skinny