Spencer Hill ‘Latitude 41’ 2017 Sauvignon Sur Lie and ‘Reserve’ Fumé 2015
Huntress 2018 ‘Waikura’ Rosé and 2017 Pinot Noir
Harwood Hall 2018 Sauvignon, 2017 Pinot Gris and Rose, 2016 Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and Syrah
Sisters Ridge North Canterbury 2018 Sauvignon Blanc and 2017 Pinot Noir
Te Aro Wine ‘Tastes Like’ 2016 Sauvignon Blanc and 2017 Syrah
Gimblett Gravels 2016 Annual Vintage Selection
te Pa Marlborough 2018 Rosé, Sauvignon and Pinot Gris, and 2017 Chardonnay and ‘Oke’
Mount Brown North Canterbury Pinot Gris 2018
Rock Ferry Methode, 3rd Rock, and Marlborough and Central Otago SV Releases
Australian, Spanish and Californian Wines from RM Wine Partners
Blank Canvas Wines from Matt and Sophie Thomson
Fifth Bridge Central Otago 2018 Rosé, and 2017 Pinot Gris, Riesling, Pinot Noir and LH Riesling
Koha Marlborough 2018 Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Gris, and 2017 Pinot Noir
Providore Central Otago Wines from Peter Bartle
Mission ‘Jewelstone’ Gimblett Gravels Syrah 2016
Fairhall Downs ‘Family Estate’ Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2018
Smoking Loon Chardonnay, and McManis Pinot Noir and Petite Sirah from 2017
Kaimira Estate Brightwater Sauvignon Blanc 2016
Grava Martinborough 2017 Rosé and LH Sauvignon Blanc
Stonecroft 2018 ‘Crofters’ and ‘Undressed’, and 2016 ‘Reserve’ Syrahs
South River Central Otago Rosé, Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir
Hawksdrift 2018 Sauvignon Blanc and 2016 Barrel Whites and Single Vineyard Pinot Noir
Elephant Hill Central Otago Pinot Noir 2017
Pa Road 2018 Rosé, Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Gris, and 2017 Chardonnay and Pinot Noir
Spade Oak ‘Voysey’ Hawke’s Bay Syrah 2017
// View More Featured Reviews

General Blog

Marlborough Wine Show 2018 – Trophy Winners


The trophy winners of the 2018 Marlborough Wine Show were announced today at a ‘Long Lunch’ celebrating the Marlborough wine industry. The Champion Wine of the Show was the Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Seddon’ Pinot Noir 2015. There were 18 trophies presented, with the Pinot Noir varietal featuring prominently. These included the Marlborough Museum Legacy Award, won by Villa Maria ‘Single Vineyard – Southern Clays’ Pinot Noirs 2012, 2015 and 2017, and the Wine of Provenance Award going to the Tohu ‘Rore’ ‘Reserve’ Pinot Noir 2017.

A Lifetime Achievement Award was also made to Dr Rengasamy (‘Bala’) Balasubramaniam, a former Hort Research scientist deeply involved with the development of the Marlborough wine industry since the late 1990s. Bala was also the President of the NZSVO for 10 years.

The Trophy Winners
Here is a list of the trophy winners. Click here to see a list of the 38 gold medal winners from the show on my website. A full list of medal winners can be seen at

OI New Zealand Wine of the Show
Villa Maria Single Vineyard Seddon Pinot Noir 2015

Methode Marlborough Trophy for Champion Sparkling Wine
Hunter’s Miru Miru Reserve 2013

The De Sangosse Trophy for Champion Riesling
The Sounds Marlborough Riesling 2018

The Wine Marlborough Trophy for Champion Other White Varietal
Forrest Chenin Blanc 2017

The Label and Litho Trophy for Champion Pinot Gris
Wither Hills Pinot Gris 2018

The Wine Brokers New Zealand Trophy for Champion Gewürztraminer
Cicada Marlborough Gewürztraminer 2017

The WineWorks Trophy for 2017 and older Champion Sauvignon Blanc
Giesen Single Vineyard Fuder Dillons Point Sauvignon Blanc 2015

The WineWorks Trophy for 2018 Champion Sauvignon Blanc
Peter Yealands Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2018

The Ormond Nurseries Trophy for Champion Chardonnay 2016
Villa Maria Single Vineyard Taylors Pass Chardonnay 2016

The Ormond Nurseries Trophy for Champion Chardonnay 2017
Brancott Estate Letter Series O Chardonnay 2017

The Scenic Hotel Marlborough Trophy for Champion Rosé
The Sounds Rosé2018

The Classic Oak Products Trophy for 2015 and older Champion Pinot Noir
Villa Maria Single Vineyard Seddon Pinot Noir 2015

The Classic Oak Products trophy for 2016 Champion Pinot Noir
Summerhouse Marlborough Pinot Noir 2016

The Classic Oak Products Trophy for 2017 Champion Pinot Noir
Isabel Estate Marlborough Pinot Noir 2017

The Wine Marlborough trophy for Champion Other Red Varietal
Giesen Single Vineyard Clayvin Syrah 2016

The Barrel Finance & Logistics Trophy for Champion Sweet Wine
Riverby Estate Noble Riesling 2016

The Marlborough Museum Legacy Award
Villa Maria Single Vineyard Southern Clays Pinot Noir 2012, 2015 and 2017

The Coterie Trophy for Wine of Provenance
Tohu Rore Reserve Pinot Noir 2017
Copyright © 2011 Raymond Chan Wine Reviews
Website by DataFlex | Design by Skinny